We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnoustie Deserves Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carnoustie Deserves Better”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is terribly ran down almost to the point of being disgusting. The health club and spa is actually a health hazard and spa. I remember when this hotel was built people expected great things and really making carnoustie a golfing hotspot. The course remains the best in the world and the hotel is just an ugly run down swamp that will put many people off staying the night in the town and instead just commuting in for a day visit whilst staying at st Andrews.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your post.
Whilst I appreciate your comments, and whilst I accept that there are areas of our hotel that may be 'tired', I do not at all accept your unreasonable description which not only is grossly misleading but also inaccurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    482
    243
    121
    57
See reviews for
212
568
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just spent two nights in the hotel with a group of friends on a celebration weekend. The staff were all very courteous and pleasant and attended to our every request at breakfast and dinner. The pool was large and very relaxing and not busy when we went between five and six. The rooms were spacious and clean (though a bit tired) as were the bathrooms. The town is a short walk away though it was disappointing. We had a lovely relaxing weekend and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Remember to book dinner in advance. The rooms over the car park were so quiet. We enjoyed watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review and delighted to read you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the weekend with our 3 kids other family members were all stayin in different parts of the hotel. The family room was silly layed out having 2 double beds which isnt very handy the room was cleanish but very very dated. Our little one was in a cot and the only space for the cot was beside the window/patio doors that were really drafty so she didnt sleep well. We had supper in the bar and it was lovely. Then went back to our room to get the kids down the beds were really comfy and we had a super sleep. I had a massage on sat morning and it was brilliant we took the kids to the pool aswell and they enjoyed that. Breakfast was ok. We did enjoy our weekend away but were really disapointed that the hotel was so dated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for posting your comments.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and note each of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked ths hotel for a two night break away . Trip advisor reviews were mixed but due to securing a good deal and thought (wrongly ) we would give it a try. Check in was pleasant with friendly reception staff, and the reception area was clean and well presented . Only one lift working when we arrived , which didn't affect us too much as we were situated on the first floor .. Room key was a golf ball key ring (very dated) , which obstructed the opening of the bedroom door each time we used it . Our room was large and spacious , we were given a family room , clean on the whole , but many cobwebs on the ceiling and around curtains etc , furniture was dated and lacked the comfort factor . Bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom ,
although dated was clean and towels changed daily . We tried to book a table in the restaurant for Friday evening , we were informed there were no tables available so we decided to eat in the bar area.Only one course , not what we would probably have spent in the restaurant given the chance. Food was good and the service pleasant but we couldn't help but notice the restaurant was empty between 6.30 and 8 .30 , no explanation given when we queeried this, needless to say the local Indian restaurant was happy to receive our booking on the Saturday evening. I
guess the Carnoustie golf hotel can do without dinner guests. Bar area was poor , with dirty tables and gantry and furniture was saggy and moth eaten. Standards all round appeared poor , I observed dirty towels and sheets lying in the corridoors after rooms had been cleaned by housekeeping . Not a very hygienic practice Haven't they heard of laundry carts ? . if your looking for somewhere to lay your head , or your simply passing through and need something cheap and cheerful , then perhaps this is place for you .we certainly won't be back , we have higher standards . Best advice I could give to Bespoke Hotes .... Knock the hotel down and start
again

Room Tip: Book another hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, all of which we note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

Dunfermline
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Checking into this hotel on Friday 7th March for a two night stay was the start of a forgettable experience. Was informed the restaurant was fully booked for dinner both evenings. It turns out one one table was occupied 6.45pm and at 8pm only a few tables were taken.
Saturday was much the same. The furniture in the lounge was well worn and grubby, glass tables were all streaky from using a dirty cloth, drinks served without place mats and staff spent more time chatting to each other as opposed to making sure dirty glasses were removed and the general pace was spotless. I would have to say the staff were friendly but their training requires to be focused on customer care and how a hotel should be looked after. The breakfast was ok but that's all I could say about it. The hotel is certainly living on it's past reputation and the sign above the famous Rolex Clock over looking the golf course cheapens the whole complex.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, don't spend the over inflated price to have a golf or sea view. A shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, although disppointed that you did not enjoy your stay, and were unable to dine in our restaurant which was fully booked on both Friday & Saturday evenings.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on buisness as was reasonably cheap and a grest location but rooms are a bit dated food was first class and hotel very quiet shame rooms are not up to modern day standards and the key rings for room have a golf ball hangin from them a bit naff and awkward for in ur pocket

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review.
Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne And Wear, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night and found it overall adequate and comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable and shower was decent.

I was checked in without delay or fuss, and cannot fault any staff.

I eat in the bar and had 2 courses, food was nice enough but portions were on the small side for me. A walk to the local chip shop sorted this out though.

Breakfast was similarly small on portion.

Overall it was ok, I would say that in mu opinion this would have been a fantastic hotel 5/6 years ago but I'd does seem to be in need of a little TLC in places but I must stress very clean and tidy.

Plenty car parking and nice location.

My one issue was I left a shirt in the wardrobe and called later in the day to enquire, hoping it could be posted out to me as I'm rarely in the area. I was asked for my number and promised a return call once house keeping had been consulted, however this was over a week ago and I'm still waiting a call.

It was a logo'd work shirt so it is of no use to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scott-adele-megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for posting your comments - I will investigate re your shirt and respond.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
128 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,139 reviews
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
21.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing