We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Aboukir Restaurant also known as "The Gable Restaurant", is just a 5 minute walk from the Carnoustie High Street and it seats 45 people comfortably. Our larger tables can accommodate groups of up to 25 people.Our range of fine wines are sourced from Matthew Clark, who are suppliers of fine wines from around the world. Our cuts of beef are prepared on the premises ensuring that the best cuts are always served to you the customer. The cuts will be cooked to your liking and served with our classic steak garnish.While we have set menus we also have a selection of vegetarian dishes and a kids menu available along with our tasty daily specials which you will find on our boards or just ask a member of staff.Our friendly staff are always at hand to answer any questions you have about our food and services so please feel free to contact us at any time.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The chef is excellent and the produce used is of a very high standard. One can spend Continental-like hours of time eating; no one rushes you,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restuarant”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked restuarant for my wife's birthday. We were a group of 12 and although they made a mistake with starters the service and food was very good. Very nice surroundings at very good prices

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neilmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Another great meal at The Aboukir. Attentive staff and friendly atmosphere. Recommend to all. Great garden for sitting in now weather getting better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandurah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hotel Restaurant is first class, good food, good wine, good service, in lovely surroundings and not too pricey, what more can you ask for. The entry from the car park cuts through the bar which is a quiet busy with the local's, best enter from the front and avoid this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The food was excellent, sweet was yummy (chocolate box) staff very helpful.
Will be back and would recomment anyone to give the Aboukir a try.
The bar are was lively and great atmostphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandurah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel also viewed

 
Carnoustie, Angus
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing