We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tassie Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Carnoustie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just returned from Tassie week playing golf in Carnoustie, I stayed at the Seaview hotel in Ireland street and found it outstanding, it was spotlessly clean very quiet and we were served an exceptional breakfast each morning which set us up for the day and nothing was too much trouble for Claire the lady running the hotel, I will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Seaview Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Seaview hotel last week, having a few days for a relaxing break without the car.
Our first impression was that it was very clean and tidy, and the welcome we had was warm and friendly. We were shown to our room on the top floor, a lovely room with a view that made the climb worthwhile. The large bathroom was bright and the shower and fittings were like new.
First impressions were proved more than correct,when we went for our meals. The food was very good, the service was first class, and there was a family atmosphere.
The hotel is near the centre of town, and Carnoustie has a good bus service.
There are many pleasant walks along the seaside and around the area.
We were sorry to leave and certainly hope to be back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be large with en suite facilities and the ground floor room was suitable for the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at the Seaview for a golf week with some friends. The welcome from Walter our Landlord was first class and was informative about what and where to go and see away from the golf, whilst also understanding the vagaries of requirements that golfers require - especially if the weather turns wet!
Highly recommended and I will be back
Thanks Walter

Room Tip: The first floor family room is huge and has a large bathroom attached - and wonderful plaster cornic...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a pleasant stay in the Seaview Hotel, Carnoustie. Officially rated four star? Yes, but those stars were no doubt awarded in the old-fashioned sense of cleanliness, hospitality and good food.
Don't go looking for wifi access, a lift, or flunky servants here. It is husband-and-wife run, and a sterling job they make of it, too.
Our room on the first floor was huge, with a double bed and a single, and en suite (bath and shower). All very clean and tidy, with good quality bedding. Plenty hangers in the wardrobe, as well as adequate drawer space. Hard to fault it.
Oh, yes, given the name of the hotel, there was a seaview, too. Not much of one on the first floor, admittedly, but bound to improve if you opt for the level above.
The Seaview has no lift, but the one bedroom on the ground floor is wheelchair friendly, and that applies, I believe, to its bath and shower-room as well.
Lots of decent courses on the hotel's doorstep, not least Carnoustie's championship links. Burnside, too, is a decent challenge, but still eminently playable for a once-a-month golfer.
Yes, good value and good hospitality are what the Seaview is all about. Chip Beck and Sam Torrance stayed there on their most recent visit to the town, so if they think the hotel is up to par, chances are you will agree!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BearsdenTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Noise from trains disturbed sleep early morning as did seagulls on roof. Bungalows in bottom of garden spoiled the setting.

Stayed: June 2008
4  Thank lindabrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen, Scotland
15
Reviewed 11 July 2006

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and were well pleased with the accommodation. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Everything appears to be well thought out and nothing was too much trouble for the proprietor and his staff.

Food was well cooked and plentiful.

We have stayed in many hotels abroad and most do not match up to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

I stayed at the Seaview Hotel last year and had to let everyone else out there know about this gem of a hotel in Carnousite. There are 6 bedrooms including one downstairs with disabled access. We stayed in room 6 at the top of the hotel with an amazing view out over the sea. The rooms and ensuites are large and clean. Food was faultless and at £99 for 3 nights B&B pp this was excellent value. We went there for a "get away from it all" break and this certainly did the trick. The train station is a 5 min walk so we took the train to Dundee to visit RRS Discovery (Captain Scott's polar exploration); went to Arbroath Abbey (Declaration of Independence), lots of long walks along the coast and drives in the country.
Carnoustie is most famous for the Championship Golf course but we don't golf but the hotel can arrange golf and there were a few people staying how were going to be playing the course.

Since staying there I have found out that the hotel got the 4 star award
All in all we had a great time and would recommend.

14  Thank cruickville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.8 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
135 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
0.6 mi away
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: 29 Ireland Street, Carnoustie DD7 6AS, Scotland (Formerly Seaview Private Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carnoustie
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview has 6 rooms all en-suite room 1 is a family room for up to 4 people, room 2 is a triple room, room 3,5,6 are double or twin rooms and room 4 is a single, all rooms have new zip and lock beds either 3.5ft singles or a superkingsize double. All rooms have Wifi and the whole property is non smoking. We are only 8 min walk from the championship course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Carnoustie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing