We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Carnoustie B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a B&B rather than a hotel but it is lovely. Spotlessly clean, excellent wi-fi connection, good breakfasts and beautiful views of the Carnoustie seaside plus extremely friendly owners. There's also ample parking in the hotel car park.

Seaview has a great location - close to the beach and the main street, both within a 5-minute walk, plus a big co-op at the end of the road. There's a number of places to choose from for dining nearby as well (a few hotels serving hot food, restaurants and cafes) - Carnoustie is a very small place and everything is within walking distance. The view from the window is lovely, and I love the fact that you can hear the waves outside the window... There's a trainline fairly close to the hotel as well but trains don't run too often and I have barely noticed them (and I am very sensitive to noise so this really tells you something!). Ah yes, the train. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the station (probably more like 3 minutes in fact) so you can easily get here by train if you don't want to drive. There's also a good connection with other Angus seaside towns, Arbroath and Montrose.

I stayed in Seaview for a few days and was really happy with everything. I stayed in a twin room, bed was very comfy, there was also ample furniture in the room (a wardrobe, side table, chest of drawers, desk, stool, two chairs) but it wasn't cramped as the room was a fair size. The only thing I'd perhaps like to see additionally would've been a little table to sit by, have your tea and admire the view! (You could still do that but without a table and put your tea on the window sill, I guess!). There was also a mirror and TV in the room (hadn't even bothered to switch it on so can't comment on that). The bathroom was also a fair size, with an electric shower (good water pressure, hot water as required), toilet and sink. The decor was ok, sort of B&B-ish (traditional rather than modern).

For breakfast you could choose from a variety of cereals, fruit, tea/coffee/orange juice and a cooked English breakfast - or should I say Scottish, 'cos you could have haggis. I haven't had a full cooked breakfast so cannot comment on it but the one's the other guests were having looked fine! Also toast, good choice of jams.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this B&B, well worth a stay if you're heading up to Angus! Carnoustie is small but nice for a few days' stay. There's a great playground by the sea, including a little splash pool for kids, and there's a lovely sandy beach! Great base for exploring Angus, which I think is a beautiful region.

Room Tip: I had a room right at the top meaning 2nd floor - great views! If you don't mind walking up a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResearcherFromSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed for one night but it was a lovely experience! The room itself had a fantastic seaview and the service matched this view perfectly. The breakfast was great.
PS The recommendation for the ice cream was spot on too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

You would be very hard pushed to find a Hotel in the area with such a warm friendly welcome, great breakfast, good quiet nights sleep and very clean all round.This was our 7th visit and we would definitely go back. George & Julia Hastie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This small hotel puts the large hotels to shame!!

We stayed at the Seaview for the first time and this certainly won't be the last!
We had a lovely seaview and the service was very warm and friendly The food was superb too.

Exceptional value for money.

David & Margo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St. Annes
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 'whistle stop' tour of Carnoustie - the welcome at the Seaview was great and we had a lovely view out to sea. Breakfast, after a quiet undisturbed night, was superb and we hope it wont be too long before we get the chance to visit again.

T & T

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel (b&b) is off the main track but is a gem. Claire was so warm and friendly. We were that pleased with our stay we extended! Fabulous clean room. Breakfast was great. I'd recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Seaview for the first time this week, it certainly won't be the last! The room was very clean and tidy, with a crackin' view of the sea. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Claire, nothing was too much trouble for her.
Breakfast was superb, with cereal, yoghurt, toast, or a beautiful cooked breakfast, with plenty of tea or coffee.
Exceptional value for money.
Slip of the cursor down below, there is no pool! Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.7 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
125 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Bed and Breakfast
Park House Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Carnoustie
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Property: Seaview Guest House
Address: 29 Ireland Street, Carnoustie DD7 6AS, Scotland (Formerly Seaview Private Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview has 6 rooms all en-suite room 1 is a family room for up to 4 people, room 2 is a triple room, room 3,5,6 are double or twin rooms and room 4 is a single, all rooms have new zip and lock beds either 3.5ft singles or a superkingsize double. All rooms have Wifi and the whole property is non smoking. We are only 8 min walk from the championship course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seaview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Carnoustie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing