We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Steak Pie”

Queen Street Tavern
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Forfar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is listed in the Phone Book, Tayside 2009/10. Phone No: 01307 462722.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak Pie”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great wee place for a meal waiting staff always very pleasant. Always have the steak pie keep meaning to have something else but the steak pie is just so good, piping hot and decent sized potions too if I fancy desert have to leave my chips or roasties. Deserts are rather decent too and reasonably priced which is a bonus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieT536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had another great Sunday dinner and brought more family with us this time. All enjoyed, but it was very hot - please open windows when the heat lamps are on.

Fab choice of meats and the Steak Pie is every bit as good as the Birkhill Inn 'Award winning' pie. So no need to travel through to Dundee for best Steak Pie around now!!
Great selection of puddings and both courses for £11.99

Thanks again for a great Sunday meal - and no Sunday Roast tins to clean up for me!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyBeanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited for the first Sunday a few weeks ago and wish we had gone sooner. The food was excellent and the value exceptional. Went with our family and everyone enjoyed their meal especially so our two grandsons. Will definitely be going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA02121949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back street gem”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is the best steak pie for miles!

Went for lunch, friendly quick service and nice surroundings.Only minor was my roast potatoes slightly undercooked but that can be forgiven due to excelelnce of steal pie. Haddock also excellent and carrot cake/desserts to die for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enjoyable overall”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My family and I went to the queen street tavern in forfar and overall it was pretty good. There was a nice atmosphere, the staff were pleasant and the food was very nice however the portions were way to big and there was only 1 crampt, smelly male toilet. Apart from that it was lovely and we would go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank breeboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queen Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Queen Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing