We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Night Away”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in Forfar due to having a party. The Bed an Breakfast was loveily. On arriving we were meet and given a show round of our room which was loviely. We required a taxi that evening and we were given a number for a company that were very effiecent.

Having breakfast in our room was fantasic and food was excellent.

We will certainly be returning to stay.

Room Tip: book directly with the Bed and Breakfast you will save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Lovely people who simply couldnt do enough for us. Got a great nights sleep in preparation for an interview and I got the job!
This is a lovely character home beatifully kept and the breakfast was smashing!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed for one night, the room was very nice, spacious & comfortable, everything you could need for a very comfortable stay. Breakfast is served in the room, delicious with a great choice. Shared bathroom was very clean, had it been ensuite, it would be perfect. The owner was very welcoming & friendly, would definitely stay there again, one little point, better signposting for the B&B would make it easier to find, especially on a dark night. But overall, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Lour bedroom which is the largest of those on offer. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable (everything thought of including the aforementioned electric blanket) with a breakfast table at the window overlooking farmland beyond the spacious grounds. Breakfast is brought to your room and the full breakfast is highly recommended. We shared our stay with our dog as we were using Forfar as a stop over to and from a dog show further north. The establishment is very dog-friendly and Robert, the proprietor, made a small enclosed field available to us for safe off-lead exercising during our stay. Balmashanner House is also a great starting point for a number of walks in/around Forfar via the Forfar Path Network. All in all a very comfortable stay with a very welcoming and helpful host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during business in Forfar. Arrving at the B&B in dark/icy night was a bit daunting since the location is remote. The front door entrance is quite gloomy but the owners made me feel very welcome and ensured all my needs were met. A very friendly place with the owner Robert going out of his way and even providing secretarial support in emergency - felt well looked after and the electric blanket (which was a godsend) ensured that I was warm given the cold icy climate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Difficult to find accommodation in Forfar but managed to locate and book a room at Balmashanner Guest House. The hosts (Robert & Marie) couldnt have been more helpful, advising on a very good eaterie in the town along with a couple of local hostelries that were very nice too. The room was clean, spacious and very welcoming. The hosts had even put an electric blanket on prior to my arrival.. My room had a settee and breakfast table with a beautiful view of the countryside and the home cooked breakfast was a treat.

Whilst the en-suite was shared it was spotlessly clean and did'nt prove any inconvenience during my stay. I would definitely recommend staying at Balmashanner if you want a peaceful and cosy stay with hosts that really care about looking after their guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilfitzeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The service was excellent.The host,was very helpful and went out of his way to pick me up when i had to abandon my car with a flat tyre.Balmashanner is high on the hill above Forfar and is a charming period building set in its own grounds. The room was spacious with a dining table in the window, so you can take in the view at breakfast, a comfortable king bed & wfi access. There is a shared bathroom.Overall the accommodation is tranquil and comfortable set in a pleasant rural setting within easy reach of the town and with opportunity for local walks.I had a very pleasant stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
5.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
122 reviews
10.7 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Strathview
Strathview
#8 of 16 in Forfar
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#13 of 16 in Forfar
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guthrie Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 16 in Forfar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Address: Off Lour Road | Balmashanner House, Forfar DD8 2LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashanner House, an 18th-century country home, offers quality family Bed & Breakfast accommodation for tourists and business people on the outskirts of Forfar. Our beautiful but central location will suit leisure, business, anglers, walkers, cyclists, shooting, and wildlife guests alike. Keen golfers have access to the many golf courses including Carnoustie, St Andrews, and locally there is the Forfar, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Edzell (discount vouchers available), Kirriemuir, Letham Grange Golf Clubs who accept day membership. Aberdeen is 45 minutes away, and Glasgow and Edinburgh are less than 2 hours drive. Local towns include Kirriemuir (home of JM Barrie - Author of Peter Pan), Dundee and Perth. We are only 8 miles from Glamis Castle. Locally there are plenty of amenities which are only 5 minutes from Balmashanner. All rooms share the bathroom and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmashanner Bed And Breakfast Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing