We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay- very dog friendly too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 15 Forfar B&B and Inns
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to stay- very dog friendly too”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A beautiful period house in a tranquil location with homely rooms with all the facilities you require. Lovely breakfast served in the room on the table beside the window which had a gorgeous view. The owner, Robert, was very kind and welcoming. He was happy to help out so much so he looked after the dog for us whilst we were at a wedding. Our stay was so nice we decided to book an extra night so we could relax and enjoy this lovely place. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Balmashanner Guest House while I was working in the area. We were made very welcome by our host Robert and his family who everyday checked to see if my wife needed anything while I was at work. We stayed in the large Lour double room which was very clean and had a comfortable double bed with electric blanket should you require it. A plentiful breakfast was served in our room which was nicely cooked and enjoyable. The only negative comment is that you have to share the one bath room on the landing but this is compensated for by the warm welcome and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Balmashanner Guest House whilst visiting Forfar and surrounding areas.
Lovely house with excellent views, we were made very welcome the moment we arrived. We stayed in a twin room which was very clean with comfortable beds and the added bonus of electric blankets..
Breakfast was served in your room which was nicely cooked and plentiful. Definitively set you up for the day!
Bathroom was shared by all rooms but was very clean and wasn.t too much of a problem. Hot water was always available.
Overall excellent service with a warm and friendly welcome and would definitely recommend
the bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at Balmashanner for 2 nights over a weekend visiting Forfar. We were made very welcome to this lovely house, and would definitely recommend Balmashanner for anyone visiting the area. Surrounded by countryside ( with lots of wind turbines ), and a short walk from the war memorial, Balmashanner was a peaceful and relaxing stay, yet not far from the town centre.

Room Tip: Wear woolly clothes if visiting in winter.. Or Scottish summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed with Robert and his Lovely wife for the best part of 3 weeks... Balmashanner is a Grand old Tradational farm house. Set in What seems to be Rual Forfar, but is less than a 5min Drive from the town centre.close to supermarkets Asda ..Tesco..Co-op..Balmashanner has four bed rooms.i stayed in the single bedroom , which was.Spotless and clean..Very comfy bed,with(electric Blanket) for those cold nights Tv, Fridge kettle with tea & coffee ,and small dinning table await you..Clean towels everyday.... Toilet is shared, BUT is spotless....Robert serves Breakfast to your room in morning..Robert makes a great Breakfast (think its his wife) with coffee, fresh orange jucie etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We arrived in total darkness after taking a good while to find Balmashanner---Luckily we had a torch in the car as the house had no external lighting apart from a non functioning security light ==a cheery gentleman showed us up a rather steep uncarpeted stair to the bedrooms== there were four of these==all of the doors opened off a narrow passage at the head of the stair==the rooms were of a generous size and well furnished == there was some staining on the ceilings here and there which would indicate perhaps a leaky roof== but we've had a very wet winter and I'm sure this will soon be rectified =The beds were most comfortable and the gentleman kindly put on our electric blankets each night as we were rather late home== the main complaint however was that four bedrooms were sharing one bathroom == albeit a large room with loads of hot water and spotlessly clean==we were four friend ok== but you could end up sharing with total strangers== the towels again most clean could perhaps benefit fron renewal ==breakfast is served in the bedrooms and was of good quality and well cooked if somewhat meagre for large gents==the view from the windows on a sunny winter morning was memorable ==BUT the garden sorely needs some TLC as does the surroundings of the house== lastly if you do go be sure to walk to the nearby War Memorial well worth a visit !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordercurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in Forfar due to having a party. The Bed an Breakfast was loveily. On arriving we were meet and given a show round of our room which was loviely. We required a taxi that evening and we were given a number for a company that were very effiecent.

Having breakfast in our room was fantasic and food was excellent.

We will certainly be returning to stay.

Room Tip: book directly with the Bed and Breakfast you will save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
5.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
118 reviews
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#12 of 15 in Forfar
5 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
61 reviews
8.6 mi away
Guthrie Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Address: Off Lour Road | Balmashanner House, Forfar DD8 2LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashanner House, an 18th-century country home, offers quality family Bed & Breakfast accommodation for tourists and business people on the outskirts of Forfar. Our beautiful but central location will suit leisure, business, anglers, walkers, cyclists, shooting, and wildlife guests alike. Keen golfers have access to the many golf courses including Carnoustie, St Andrews, and locally there is the Forfar, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Edzell (discount vouchers available), Kirriemuir, Letham Grange Golf Clubs who accept day membership. Aberdeen is 45 minutes away, and Glasgow and Edinburgh are less than 2 hours drive. Local towns include Kirriemuir (home of JM Barrie - Author of Peter Pan), Dundee and Perth. We are only 8 miles from Glamis Castle. Locally there are plenty of amenities which are only 5 minutes from Balmashanner. All rooms share the bathroom and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmashanner Bed And Breakfast Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing