We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John and Amarjot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“John and Amarjot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Delightful B&B. Rob was very welcoming, friendly and helpful while providing a first class B&B service. Loved the house because it was full of character, very quiet and spacious, and the breakfast because it was served in the room and in front of the window which looked onto fields. No en-suite but this was not an issue. We toured Scotland for two weeks and stayed in a number of B&Bs but this was perhaps our favourite. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again when we are in that area again. Excellent value also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A wonderfull B&B.
The house is really in the "middle of nowhere" but due to this it is wonderfull quiet.
The rooms are clean room with a more than comfortable bed.
The bathroom is big and clean - although not en-suite.
Great tasting breakfast.

So really everything you need and even more for a wonderfull stay in Scotland.

Everytime again.

We only had some troubles to find the house.
My recommendation - trust the explanation and follow the road out of Forfar and then you'll find the small road on the right which leads you to Balmashanner House...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have stayed with Rob and Marie on a number of occasions and we and our two sheepdogs have always received a very warm and friendly welcome. The house has a lovely country character and the rooms are clean, tidy and provide everything you could expect of a B&B at this price; don't expect en-suite bathrooms, dressing gowns/slippers or HD TV but you will be comfortable and very well looked after. Great value, really good food, great service and very highly recommended, we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: The Lour room is bigger but the lower bed in the Strathmore room is quieter and, for us, the more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry_and_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Rob and his daughter make you feel so welcome, and Marie makes an absolutely delicious breakfast! The rooms and bathroom are spotless. The bed was super comfortable, which made for a good night's sleep. The views around the property are breathtaking and it's just a quick stroll to the Balmashanner monument. I even walked into Forfar and back. It's just far enough away to have the countryside feel, but close enough to be very convenient. I can't wait for my next stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 88Melissa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had a lovely stay here for a party nearby at the Kinettles Castle. The very kind and thorough host Robert did a great job welcoming us and sorted out our taxis to and from the party. Very comfortable, clean.

Not much room for improvement!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely and quiet location, but were disappointed in the facilities. There was no Washbasin in the Lour room, and the four bedrooms shared one bathroom including a shower (only - no baths allowed, though there was a bath there), toilet and washhandbasin, which we were instructed to leave as clean as we had found it. The ban on baths seems to be a characteristic of the area's B&Bs. Fortunately, the rooms were not full when we were there, so bathroom use was not a problem.

The folks were friendly, and we would return if the house was not fully booked, so that there was not a lot of demand for the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lour room, and check the occupancy, to avoid queuing for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

A beautiful period house in a tranquil location with homely rooms with all the facilities you require. Lovely breakfast served in the room on the table beside the window which had a gorgeous view. The owner, Robert, was very kind and welcoming. He was happy to help out so much so he looked after the dog for us whilst we were at a wedding. Our stay was so nice we decided to book an extra night so we could relax and enjoy this lovely place. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
5.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
11.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#10 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Address: Off Lour Road | Balmashanner House, Forfar DD8 2LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashanner House, an 18th-century country home, offers quality family Bed & Breakfast accommodation for tourists and business people on the outskirts of Forfar. Our beautiful but central location will suit leisure, business, anglers, walkers, cyclists, shooting, and wildlife guests alike. Keen golfers have access to the many golf courses including Carnoustie, St Andrews, and locally there is the Forfar, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Edzell (discount vouchers available), Kirriemuir, Letham Grange Golf Clubs who accept day membership. Aberdeen is 45 minutes away, and Glasgow and Edinburgh are less than 2 hours drive. Local towns include Kirriemuir (home of JM Barrie - Author of Peter Pan), Dundee and Perth. We are only 8 miles from Glamis Castle. Locally there are plenty of amenities which are only 5 minutes from Balmashanner. All rooms share the bathroom and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmashanner Bed And Breakfast Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing