We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best B&B around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Beautiful Scenery, excellent hosts Robert and Marie. Providing us with great information on the area , beautiful room and first class breakfast which is served in the room which was fantastic..
I have stayed in many places throughout the area and paid 3 times the amount to stay in other accommodation that we were not as well treated in as here. worth every penny.

The accommodation is attached to the family home and it was like a mini castle on first stepping into it, it was built in the 1800's and the original solid wood spiral staircase is a real classic, newly decorated but keeping the vintage style which was lovely. bathroom is huge and everything so clean (it is a shared bathroom - however, that is stated clearly on the details and if you go and dont like it there is no point in complaining about a shared bathroom - we found no problem with it at all and to be honest i wasnt sure of the idea at first but i knew to expect it - there were no issues at all. as mentioned before - the cleanliness was perfection.

Full marks on everything. peaceful setting and just approx 1.5 mile from Forfar town. We will be regular customers

Finishing touches are to perfection - just a few things off the top of my head -electric blankets, a teddy bear on my 5 year old son's bed, making sure we were not stuck for laptop /phone chargers etc - a lot of thought to their customers, (unfortunately many of us have experienced first hand that we can many times be just a number and it is not a nice feeling in a place we are not familiar with, an increasing number of hospitality/organisations in todays society seem to forget about that - even though they charge a fortune)... Balmashanner, however, was first class in our eyes! very caring, excellent family run bed and breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic we will def take pictures on our next visit to show you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

From booking to checking out Balmashanner was a joy. Nice remote location with lovely scenery which is what we wanted. We arrived to a warm friendly welcome like we had arrived at an Aunt and Uncles house for the weekend. Rooms are lovely, homely and clean. Breakfast, we had a perfectly cooked full breakfast, served in your room whilst you look out the window to the lovely Scottish countryside. Close to Forfar, we chose the Chapter & Verse for a meal and it was lovely food. Curries were actually really good (and I'm from the home of the Balti) and their soup was divine! Quick trip to the next pub The Stag then back to the Chapter that had live music. Local taxi driver was a lovely chap and helpful. Close enough to Glamis and many castles. Would definitely return again soon.
Thank you Robert for your superb Scottish hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMoir271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Lovely location, very quiet and we enjoy the walk from the town. We came with our one year old son, Rob was welcoming friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and spacious. Breakfast is great and is served in your room by the window. very much recommended :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location just off the A9 and 5 mins from Forfar. Beautiful old house, full of character and decorated to suit yet modern. The lour room is spacious, warm and homely. Electric blanket was a lovely extra! Includes a mini fridge, sofa and space to hang clothes. Breakfast was delicious and enjoyed that it was brought to my room to enjoy the great view of surrounding farm land. Excellent service and friendly. Could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Delightful B&B. Rob was very welcoming, friendly and helpful while providing a first class B&B service. Loved the house because it was full of character, very quiet and spacious, and the breakfast because it was served in the room and in front of the window which looked onto fields. No en-suite but this was not an issue. We toured Scotland for two weeks and stayed in a number of B&Bs but this was perhaps our favourite. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again when we are in that area again. Excellent value also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A wonderfull B&B.
The house is really in the "middle of nowhere" but due to this it is wonderfull quiet.
The rooms are clean room with a more than comfortable bed.
The bathroom is big and clean - although not en-suite.
Great tasting breakfast.

So really everything you need and even more for a wonderfull stay in Scotland.

Everytime again.

We only had some troubles to find the house.
My recommendation - trust the explanation and follow the road out of Forfar and then you'll find the small road on the right which leads you to Balmashanner House...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have stayed with Rob and Marie on a number of occasions and we and our two sheepdogs have always received a very warm and friendly welcome. The house has a lovely country character and the rooms are clean, tidy and provide everything you could expect of a B&B at this price; don't expect en-suite bathrooms, dressing gowns/slippers or HD TV but you will be comfortable and very well looked after. Great value, really good food, great service and very highly recommended, we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: The Lour room is bigger but the lower bed in the Strathmore room is quieter and, for us, the more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry_and_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
5.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
11.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#9 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Address: Off Lour Road | Balmashanner House, Forfar DD8 2LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashanner House, an 18th-century country home, offers quality family Bed & Breakfast accommodation for tourists and business people on the outskirts of Forfar. Our beautiful but central location will suit leisure, business, anglers, walkers, cyclists, shooting, and wildlife guests alike. Keen golfers have access to the many golf courses including Carnoustie, St Andrews, and locally there is the Forfar, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Edzell (discount vouchers available), Kirriemuir, Letham Grange Golf Clubs who accept day membership. Aberdeen is 45 minutes away, and Glasgow and Edinburgh are less than 2 hours drive. Local towns include Kirriemuir (home of JM Barrie - Author of Peter Pan), Dundee and Perth. We are only 8 miles from Glamis Castle. Locally there are plenty of amenities which are only 5 minutes from Balmashanner. All rooms share the bathroom and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmashanner Bed And Breakfast Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing