We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon on day 12 of a long distance cycle tour.
Realising we would find it difficult to get back into town (in pouring rain) we were welcomed with large mugs of Mushroom soup and bread.
The room was large and very comfortable.
Some reviewers have wondered about the shared bathroom arrangements but i have to say we had no problems at all - the facilities are reflected in the vey good value for money stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This b&b is the best. Homely, welcoming, the owner rob is a great guy nothing too much trouble!. The views from the house are of beautiful scottish countryside, the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is amzing its my first choise accomodation if working in aberdeen or dundee. Have stayed a few times and i have now started calling balmanshanner b&b my welcome retreat. If only all b & b's were like this. See you again soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cute little B&B about 10 minutes drive from Forfar town. Had a lovely, peaceful stay here for 2 nights. The host Rob was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my breakfast both mornings too. Great place to stay if you don't mind being away from town surrounded by vast farmlands. Although I was a lone female traveller and did not have my own transport, I didn't find it too challenging to get to where I needed to be. Was also lucky to not have any issues with the shared bathroom - though I have to admit I woke up pretty early to shower! Thanks Rob for all your assistance and the chats we had!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having now stayed twice in this beautiful old house, we cant recommend it enough. First in the double room but this weekend in the Lour room which has a king-size bed. Gorgeous scenery and SO quiet which is a bonus for us parents who wanted just that. I personally don't think the shared bathroom is an issue,I've always found it clean. Robert & Marie could not give you a better welcome or a better breakfast, in your room which I loved. We will most definitely be staying again. Mr & Mrs Canning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I visited this B & B this Wednesday 30.07.14.
The host Robert was waiting for me and was very helpful . The room was warm and comfortable and breakfast in room was a nice touch.
Shared facilities but hey it's a B & B.
I hope I will be back in the future

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmashanner2011, Owner at Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review following your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room, the facilities and in particular your breakfast at the window.

We look forward to offering our hospitality to you in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Rob & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay,the Landlord couldn't be better,a lovely room with a beautiful view!!! The breakfast's were excellent.We also shared a bathroom,found it always in an immaculate state.Highly recomended,absolutely no issue's, thanks again robert and marie

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What do we expect when we stay at a Bed & Breakfast....a pleasant welcome from your Host, peaceful surroundings, lovely countryside views......hot water & heating perhaps?
Balmashanner has most of the above.
All 8 Guests, including ourselves had no hat water or heating from the time we arrived to when we left the following day. (The water was tepid at 8.30am)
Was it a boiler malfunction? No. Infact when I pointed out the fact in the morning to the owner, I was met with his surprising response of ... 'are you just here to complain'...I couldn't believe it, I was so taken aback by such an offensive remark!
He offered no apology or excuse to explain the absence of no hot water or heating, infact he became quite defensive and I was made to feel very uncomfortable.
I am not a complainer by nature but due to the owners downright rude reaction to a perfectly reasonable request from a Guest, then I will now take the opportunity to point out a few drawbacks for potential Guests at Balmashanner.
The 'double room' is a joke and is tiny, unsuitable for 2 Adults, it should be single occupancy only and it is overpriced for it's size.
If the House is fully booked you will have to share 1 bathroom with 7-8 other Guests, 1 toilet roll
provided, (these details are somewhat disguised on the Balmashammer Website)
Nice place....but our stay was ruined due to the owner's attitude towards a Guest with a valid complaint.

Room Tip: The twin room is cramped, tiny and overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmashanner2011, Owner at Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I would not normally reply to such reviews as I feel that the members of Trip Advisor will make their own mind up whilst browsing through the pages. I feel however this customer is posting incorrect information and seems to have missed what I feel are more important points that should have been contained in the review.

Firstly, this customer messed us around with the booking as they originally made the reservation through our own online system. When we discussed the deposit needed they then attempted to downgrade their two rooms booked to one twin room. I explained that a family group were anxious to book all rooms as they were attending the function that this customer was also attending but they were not related.

A few weeks later I received a call from this customer who had decided to cancel as they had changed their mind. Obviously I was not happy as the other customers were desperate to secure rooms together and had been forced into using other accommodation some 20 miles from the venue. Thankfully when I got in touch the other group moved from the twin into the double and also reserved the single.

Just before the date of the function a booking came through one of our third party booking agents to secure the twin for one night, and surprisingll it was the original customer who cancelled but this time would be bringing two dogs but that then was adjusted to one large labrador.

Without going into more detail I summarise the following:

* The heating has never in 10 years been on throughout the night due to cost.

* All beds have high quality electric blankets (at our cost).

* In the event that there is no answer at the office door there is 24 hour mobile number clearly posted at the front door. My wife and I run this and have made the rooms self sufficient we are entitled to our own personal time this is a B&B not a Hotel.

* This is a family B&B and this is very clear on all websites that we manage and furthermore it clearly states that it is a shared bathroom and shower, customers have the option not to stay here.

* The customer received an 18% discount on their final account.

* The rooms are not overpriced as if you book on a third party site you will pay more as we have to pay commission charges and VAT, book direct saves you up to 20%.

* On inspection of their room the dog had been allowed to sleep and stand on the beds as it was full of dog hair and dirty grained in paw prints.

I am happy to take on board anything that customers raise and as can be seen from the majority of the reviews this is the case. The issue with the hot water was an error on our part for which we apologise.

You are most welcome to return here and we will offer you a 50% discount on our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
5.3 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
133 reviews
5.0 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
0.9 mi away
One Strathview B&B
One Strathview B&B
#4 of 16 in Forfar
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 16 in Forfar
18 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast

Address: Off Lour Road | Balmashanner House, Forfar DD8 2LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range: £39 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashanner House, an 18th-century country home, offers quality family Bed & Breakfast accommodation for tourists and business people on the outskirts of Forfar. Our beautiful but central location will suit leisure, business, anglers, walkers, cyclists, shooting, and wildlife guests alike. Keen golfers have access to the many golf courses including Carnoustie, St Andrews, and locally there is the Forfar, Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Edzell (discount vouchers available), Kirriemuir, Letham Grange Golf Clubs who accept day membership. Aberdeen is 45 minutes away, and Glasgow and Edinburgh are less than 2 hours drive. Local towns include Kirriemuir (home of JM Barrie - Author of Peter Pan), Dundee and Perth. We are only 8 miles from Glamis Castle. Locally there are plenty of amenities which are only 5 minutes from Balmashanner. All rooms share the bathroom and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmashanner Bed And Breakfast Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing