We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, clean pleasant surroundings.”

Peggy Scotts Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Forfar
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This restaurant / cafe is on the A90 Nr.Forfar Scotland. It has been refurbished to a high standard, and a godsend if trawling the A90, which has miles and miles of nowhere as convenient as Peggy Scotts
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, clean pleasant surroundings.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We eat here from time to time en route for holidays in the South or to an airport. Food is always freshly cooked and of a high standard, though sometimes it is not terribly hot. Sometimes there can be a long wait for food after ordering and sometimes they bring each item as it is cooked rather than the whole meal at once. This can be a bit disconcerting but the staff are generally pleasant and - as stated before - the quality of the food is excellent. Interesting shop which has a mixture of ordinary groceries and some unusual - and good quality - gifts. Toilets are always spotless in my experience.

We continue to visit Peggy Scott's from time to time and would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnfaeHuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    79
    45
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gourdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced terrible restaurant”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stopped in here on a day trip and wished we hadn't ,I ordered the Chili and chips for £9.50 and was served up a cold portion of Chili with about a dozen chips.my wife ordered a baked potato with macaroni ,after scrutiny of the bill ,for her small baked potato a charge of £3.15 was made then a full macaroni meal was added at a cost of £5.99 So for a baked potato and a scoop of macaroni a total cost of £9.14. The two kids opted for the kids haddock chips and beans for £6.40 each when this arrived the kids had one mouthful of the beans and claimed they were disgusting .the fish portion was fair but with about 8/10 small chips with two milk shakes and two diet cokes a total bill of£40.44 was probably one of the worst and most expensive un edible lunch we can remember of having

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eastendmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stop on journey”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped here for a break on our long journey north to Scotland.
The staff were busy but efficient,and quickly brought us our pot of tea and thick hot lentil soup with freshly cut thick bread.Just what we needed on our travels.It tasted good.
There was a Spar shop at the end of the cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesswidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stopped for breakfast on way home we ordered 2 breakfasts and 1 sausage softie 2 coffees and tea we understand everything is freshly cooked took an age to come and our drinks were just about finished before we got our order. The quality of the food was good the service from the waitresses was good and everything kept clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great lentil soup!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

En route to Cullen my family and I stopped here around 1pm for Saturday lunch. The car park was almost full and inside the restaurant was packed with patrons of all ages. We started off with lentil soup which was so delicious that rather than progress to a scone and coffee like the others I decided to have another plate. Busy young waitresses clearing and cleaning tables as soon as they were vacated so well done to all their staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peggy Scotts Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peggy Scotts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing