We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wholesome food”
Review of Finavon Hotel

Finavon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finavon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Returning from holiday we were on our way from Glasgow airport to Aberdeen. We stopped off for a meal, it was fairly late - approaching 9pm. The waiting staff were particularily friendly and efficient (I think the first lady we got was just training). The food was delicious - not fancy just plain good food using good ingredients, cooked well and well presented.

Having been travelling from 11am it was very gratefully received and we really appreciated the good old Scottish hospitality which (as a country) we so often lack.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped off for lunch at the Finavon Hotel as a break on our journey from Edinburgh to Aberdeen, as we had been once previously and received good service then. While we headed for the relativly quiet restaurant (only 4 tables in use), there is also a cafe/coffee shop, which had several full tables.
The menu is small, but with a good range of choice (plus specials) and good value at £8 for 1 course, £11 for 2 courses, or £14 for 3 courses. We plumped for the 2 course option, with scampi and beef pie for mains and both having Sticky Toffee pudding for dessert, the order being taken by a cheery waitress. The food was promptly served and was very good.
We would happily use this restaurant again, as it is well placed on the A90, 45 miles south of Aberdeen and is a good option if you do not wish to use a national chain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra and Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had a young guide dog in training, initially no problems with pleasant young waiting staff. Boss then turned up and rudely told us no dogs were not allowed, despite us explaining the situation. I felt his manner was unpleasant, and he made a condescending comment about dog owners in general. Food was decidedly average, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RobertLockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Have stopped at this road-side, whitewashed, small hotel on several occasions, latest was on 31.8.13 to break a round trip journey from Aberdeen to Glasgow. Always used the coffee shop part and have never been disappointed. Today, had a very generously filled smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich, leek and tattie soup, daughter had ham, cheese and pickle panini - all delicious, quickly served, soup piping hot and brought to our comfy sofa by the pleasant staff. In the past have had freshly cooked bacon rolls, home baking etc. Coffee lovely, I always take it black, and many well-known coffee houses offer you bitter tasting stuff - not at Finavon.
Do pull into this little gem when needing a break you won't be disappointed and don't get it confused with the larger premises a few yards further away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosGlenmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hubby has now had two meals in the restaurant of this hotel - both very good. one meal when the place was really busy the other when the place was very quiet. One for business the other meeting up with friends. Good choice on the menu and nice friendly atmosphere with attentive staff. Not sure what the rooms are like but would stay if needed to based on their customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family love this place and we have been many times before. I visited with my daugher as we were returning from the highland show in edinburgh on route to aberdeen. The location is perfect and it breaks the long journey. The staff are just lovely and very welcoming. The restaurant was very busy yet we got a nice corner table (and we had not booked). Food was fantastic as always. I had pork belly - lovely. My daugher had a venison burger and it had the best chips I have ever tasted!

Will, as always, be back when I am heading south.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Trollydolly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The wife and I popped in past there on our way 2 Dundee, place was dead took the wee man out to the so called play park was mingin(dirty). Ordered 2 sirloins very average, usually u can't go wrong with a steak,16.50 which is quite cheap to be honest but very basic and disappointing.staff were pleasant, tables were greasy tho, overall opinion run down and average at best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forfar hotels
1.6 mi away
Chapelbank House Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 16 in Forfar
29 reviews
3.3 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
10 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finavon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finavon Hotel

Address: On A90, Forfar DD8 3QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Finavon Hotel Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing