We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional quality of food!”
Review of Finavon Hotel

Finavon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finavon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2014

travelled all the way from newton stewart in the south west of scotland to Aberdeen and stopped here for an evening meal before travelling back, I have to say it was absolutely outstanding!! we have never tasted such fresh fish, it was out of this world! best i have ever tasted! The service was first class and the surroundings were warm and friendly! overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone and only wish it was a bit closer to home as we would be regulars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzi12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you are looking for loud music, live TV football, fruit machines fast food and late night drinking don't stay here.
If on the other hand you are like me and are looking for warm, clean, comfortable rooms, a bar with friendly staff and excellent food, then this is the place to be. The room was large with all the amenities you need for an enjoyable stay. Great selection of food in the restaurant and bar, definitely try the Sea Bass if you are a fish lover. Very attentive staff, the owner, (David) is very helpful on the local area and a good laugh too. Good selection of beers, wines and soft drinks and can definitely recommend the coffee shop during the day. All in all, a great place to stay and willl certainly be looking to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road (quieter) and if you like a bath instaed of a shower: Room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Once again I booked into the Finavon Hotel as I always do on my trips up to Scotland. The place is warm friendly and the best food for miles, the owner Dave is a good laugh and will sit and talk all night if he has the time. I have read other reviews and the one about Children being asked to move away from the Bar is not being rude as everyone knows Children are not aloud to be at any Bar in any pub. The one about the guide dog I'm led to understand by all the staff there on that night that it was NOT a guide dog in training and Dave loves dogs as he has 2 of his own. Small petty reviews by some people will never put me off or all the other lads I know who always stay at Dave's on there trips up north. Be back soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed after a party and was very happy with accommodation. Rooms were clean and comfortable and exactly what we needed. Very good breakfast buffet. They obviously use a good butcher. Great value for money and would recommend to anyone looking for great value accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed at this friendly hotel for the last three years on our annual fishing trip. Good food, great company, comfortable rooms, good showers, free wifi throughout the building, nothing is too much trouble for the delightful staff and attentive owner. Some of the grander hunting and shooting hotels could learn a lesson or two from such a warm, welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful service. Food is locally sourced, the chef provides a notable steak pie amongst other menu gems and the bar is a focal point for tales of how the big one got away. I could not recommend it highly enough and it is competitively priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 110PhilipM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we have often stopped at the finavon hotel in the past and i thought it was time to praise the hotel the staff and the food. staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is fantastic. the helpings are big, no matter what you order. there are usually 4 or 6 in our group, and we always have something different each time we visit. i dont want to single out any particular meal, but the chicken fillets are to die for. all in all it is excellent. well done.

Room Tip: never stayed here so cannot comment on rooms or breakfast, but no doubt it would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank normanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On way back up to Aberdeen stopped here for a meal. Service was friendly and courteous. Food was well presented and tasty. Staff were very efficient. After serving meal came quite quickly. I heard one lady ask if she could have a half portion and the waitress said that that would be no problem. As I said great service by all.

Room Tip: I know that they have rooms but we were not staying only eating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
3.9 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
130 reviews
12.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 16 in Forfar
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
One Strathview B&B
One Strathview B&B
#4 of 16 in Forfar
10 reviews
3.3 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
1.6 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finavon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finavon Hotel

Address: On A90, Forfar DD8 3QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Finavon Hotel Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing