We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely caravan Site”

Foresterseat Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foresterseat Caravan Park
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I spent a lovely 4 days at this caravan site just after the
Glasgow school holidays in October 2012. It was very quiet probably due to
being near to end of season. The landscaping is kept immaculately. The
toilets were always spotless. The fees were discounted due to being late
season, but even high season fees seem very good value.

The restaurant next door is friendly and cooks nice food too (it apparently
is not related to the campsite - it just had a new chef when we arrived).
There is a lovely farm park just across the main road where you can enjoy
very reasonable food and walks around small lochans to see birds migrating -
the walks are free and the admission to actual farm animal section was very
reasonable.
This is a charitable farmpark and do a great work with the local community
and schools.

Wish we had discovered this years ago. We do not have young children now,
but I'm sure youngsters would find the site fine for a few days and there
are plenty places to visit nearby, but maybe not for a longer stay as there
may not be a lot do do on the site (especially at night when it gets dark
early in October) so probably more suited to folk wanting a quiet and
peaceful site I'd say.

Kites are a bad idea as there are overhead power cables and there are
warning signs of course about this.

I could only give this site very favorable review, no complaints about this
site, the wardens are very friendly and there is lots to do in the
surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We use this site for a few days away just to chill out. It's peaceful and quiet just right for a break. The restuarant is handy for anything from a coffee to a full evening meal. It's on two miles from Forfar so within walking distance . Plenty taxis to bring you back, or the local bus, although this doesn't run in the evenings. Great walks round the park with Murton Nature reserve just across the road. Also, near the Glens for serious hill walkers. Toilet/shower blocks always cosy, even in the winter, and spotlessly clean. Rate are reasonable. Have been on worse sites which were very expensive. Go on, give it a try. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We tried this site early this season(2012) and decided to be fairly regular visitors. I have nothing negative to say about the site, facilities, restaurant, or the staff. The site is mostly hard surface (stone), which I like as trailing muddy dogs in during bad weather isn't my idea of a fun weekend. There are grass pitches as well, which appear to be used when the site is really busy. The toilets are all modern and kept very clean and tidy. We noticed the play area and, although we don't have children with us, think it is very good and modern. There is a garden centre as part of the site which is being put back into order. I really hope that some serious use is made of it. It could produce quite a lot for the restaurant and to temp visitors to buy for their own gardens.

Onto the restaurant. We had an amazing breakfast on the first Sunday we stayed there. Everything is cooked to order and of a very high standard. The second visit saw us booking in for an evening meal. Mine was fine but my wife's wasn't. We mentioned this and almost immedialtely, the manager came over, agreed there was a problem, offered a replacement and didn't charge. Now that is what I term as a professional service. We will definitely be eating there again. Outside the restaurant there is a covered area with tables and seats. I would like to see more use being made of this, by way of morning coffee, afternoon teas and having it as a beer garden later on (with a sensible closing time). It would also be great if some small area could be set aside to sell the food basics (milk, bread, rolls,etc) and how about sweets and ice creams for the kids?
As said, we love this site and look forward to making many return visits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We visit this site several time a year at weekends. The site is nicely laid out with good sized pitches. Emma is always helpful and friendly. The toilet blocks are always very warm and immaculately clean, I find this great especially good at each end of the season when the weather can be rather chilly.

We both cycle and go hill walking, and find this location ideal for both.

I would thoroughly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retselm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
15.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
7.1 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
3.0 mi away
One Strathview B&B
One Strathview B&B
#4 of 16 in Forfar
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresterseat Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresterseat Caravan Park

Address: Arbroath Road, Forfar DD8 2RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Forfar
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foresterseat Caravan Park is 2 miles out of Forfar. We have grass areas for tents and hardstanding super pitches for caravans. There is a restaurant and bar next to the park called Foresterseat Restaurant. Hot showers are free. Pay us a visit; you will made most welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foresterseat Caravan Park Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing