We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Forfar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoar Guest House and Inn

Zoar Guest House and Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zoar Guest House and Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stay in Forfar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked the Zoar Inn for 2 nights (9th/10th August). We had the twin room which was very neat and clean and comfortable. Although its part of a pub we heard little or noise from the pub. Hosts very friendly. Forfar a surprisingly nice wee place and ideal for getting out for our day in nearby Glen Clova and Glen Doll. All in all a nice weekend. thanks.

the only thing I would say is that (although the website did make it clear the breakfast was extra) that we've stayed in other similar places where the breakfast is included for the same price.

Room Tip: didn't have either a swimming pool or fitness centre to be fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Im glad you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry that you felt a bit done by taking the B/fast for £5 per Person and I don't think you will find Many B&Bs with a Swimming Pool or Fitness Centre..

All The Best

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for one night and the room was clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are in an annexe so no noise from the pub. There was some traffic noise from the nearby road in the morning. The landlady and landlord were friendly. The room information stated that they didn't mind people bringing in takeaways and a microwave, plates and cutlery were provided. I think that this would be very useful for families travelling with young children - great idea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Facilities are there as we have travelled a bit and we thought they would be handy for folk on a tight budget.

All The Best

Ben & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at the Zoar Guest House. We booked ahead, and on arrival were a little worried about the noise from busy Brechin Road. Our worry proved unfounded as the noisy traffic stopped after peak hour. Our room was very clean and a reasonable size, the bed was very comfortable, somewhat unusual in the UK in our experience. We had dinner in the adjoining Inn; the food was 'interesting'. A good full English breakfast was included in the room charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Ben & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie U.K.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I were up in Forfar for a 40th Birthday Party so we arrived just after 4.00pm. We were met by Valerie and her husband Ben who own the pub and the B & B. We were made extremely welcome and were shown our accommodation which was lovely. I was a bit worried as to the road noise during the night as it is on a main street, but no worries, it was very quiet. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was more than adequate. We decided to have a meal at the pub and we are so glad we did. My husband had the Jamaican Style Pork (which tasted fantastic) and I had Roast Duck Strips with a Chilli Sauce. OMG my mouth is watering just remembering it. Great value for money. We got back to the Zoar about 11.45pm and had a nightcap before retiring. We had a choice of times to eat for breakfast and agreed to 9.30am. We had a fantastic breakfast of fresh orange juice, toast with our tea and coffee and then a breakfast of bacon, sausages, tomato, mushrooms and fried egg. Superb start to the day and we didn't eat again until teatime!!! Valerie and Ben work extremely hard in their pub and B & B and could not do enough for us. Valerie even phoned us a taxi to get us to our party and gave us a card of a local taxi firm so that we didn't have any problems getting back. Ben is a chef to trade and does all the cooking. They also do high teas on a Sunday afternoon and I would recommend them to anybody. They also cater for all dietary needs including celiacs.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about the B&B and the Pub we were pleased to assist and look forward to seeing you again.

Ben & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

we ate here one night ==it is a really good pub == well furnished and very clean == best toilets I've been in for a while == sure sign of good managment==I had a chicken stroganoff which was just as it should be == all in all great pub food ==well cooked and served in top class surroundings== if you are near be sure to give it a visit as it was worryingly quiet for a friday evening and deseves lots of customers !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bordercurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

First of all, we felt less than welcome by the hosts. Maybe we caught her/them on a bad day, but if it hadn't been so late in the day, we would have left.

The room was clean, the bathroom was adequate. But both had such strong Air Wick scents, I asked them to be removed. I could hardly breathe! Thankfully the window opened. Made me wonder what smell was being covered up.

It's on a busy street, but we found parking with no trouble. The room was quiet.

All I had for breakfast was toast so I can't comment on that, really, except to say that it was just white bread and not real butter. My husband had eggs and they were fine. The host was more conversant at breakfast, which warmed things up a bit.

The location was great. It's a short walk into town with nice shops and good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StDenisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
I was sorry to read of your problems at the Zoar Guesthouse,I do remember your late arrival and at that time the bar was very busy and we may have seemed a little stressed this is no excuse for you feeling that we dont care,so we have taken note .Im sorry that you felt the room had a strange odour but we are not hiding anything the choice of air freshner was obviously not to your liking,as for breakfast we only use lurpack and it is in small sealed containers so if its not real i dont know what is and as for the white toast you only asked for toast not brown toast as if you had you would have been given it.Once again im sorry you were unhappy but we do try hard to please all and obviously we failed this time we do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is a lovely guest house with clean, fresh, modern rooms and comfy beds. Next door to the pub but no nosie and the pub is really nice. Great hosts and awesome breakfast.
Couldn't fault the place. Best accommodation in Forfar!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased you were happy.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
4.6 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#10 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Clan Inn
#13 of 14 in Forfar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoar Guest House and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoar Guest House and Inn

Property: Zoar Guest House and Inn
Address: 42 Brechin Road, Forfar DD8 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Zoar Guest House And Inn Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing