We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”

Zoar Guest House and Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zoar Guest House and Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had an unexpected stay at the Zoar Inn in Forfar after snow cut our journey short.

Trundled in out the snow and greeted by Valerie who got us a double room which was very well presented and spotless.

Despite our late and unannounced arrival, exception to the normal food service hours were made and we were able to order 2 meals which were good hearty pub meals.

Overall, highly recommend this place for a good place to stop over whether planned or unplanned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

I thank you for your lovely comments and we were very glad to assist you, maybe you will come again under better circumstances as in the Summer the area has a lot to offer.

All the Best Ben & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently at short notice after a bereavement after travelling up from liverpool.
Our hosts valerie and benefits made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was perfect, clean, warm, well equipped with the adjoining Inn a very welcoming place to relax after our long journey.
Valerie was lovely and so helpfully when we spoke with her to arrange a further booking for the following week.
I would strongly recommend zoar guesthouse and Inn for anyone visiting forfar, the location facilities and most importantly for me, the hospitality we experienced from valerie and ben and not to mention the lovely fiona made a solemn visit to forfar special

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrobbie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Manager at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We thank you for your lovely comments and we were glad to be able to make you comfortable at this sad time .

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked the Zoar Inn for 2 nights (9th/10th August). We had the twin room which was very neat and clean and comfortable. Although its part of a pub we heard little or noise from the pub. Hosts very friendly. Forfar a surprisingly nice wee place and ideal for getting out for our day in nearby Glen Clova and Glen Doll. All in all a nice weekend. thanks.

the only thing I would say is that (although the website did make it clear the breakfast was extra) that we've stayed in other similar places where the breakfast is included for the same price.

Room Tip: didn't have either a swimming pool or fitness centre to be fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Im glad you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry that you felt a bit done by taking the B/fast for £5 per Person and I don't think you will find Many B&Bs with a Swimming Pool or Fitness Centre..

All The Best

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for one night and the room was clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are in an annexe so no noise from the pub. There was some traffic noise from the nearby road in the morning. The landlady and landlord were friendly. The room information stated that they didn't mind people bringing in takeaways and a microwave, plates and cutlery were provided. I think that this would be very useful for families travelling with young children - great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Facilities are there as we have travelled a bit and we thought they would be handy for folk on a tight budget.

All The Best

Ben & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at the Zoar Guest House. We booked ahead, and on arrival were a little worried about the noise from busy Brechin Road. Our worry proved unfounded as the noisy traffic stopped after peak hour. Our room was very clean and a reasonable size, the bed was very comfortable, somewhat unusual in the UK in our experience. We had dinner in the adjoining Inn; the food was 'interesting'. A good full English breakfast was included in the room charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Ben & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I were up in Forfar for a 40th Birthday Party so we arrived just after 4.00pm. We were met by Valerie and her husband Ben who own the pub and the B & B. We were made extremely welcome and were shown our accommodation which was lovely. I was a bit worried as to the road noise during the night as it is on a main street, but no worries, it was very quiet. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was more than adequate. We decided to have a meal at the pub and we are so glad we did. My husband had the Jamaican Style Pork (which tasted fantastic) and I had Roast Duck Strips with a Chilli Sauce. OMG my mouth is watering just remembering it. Great value for money. We got back to the Zoar about 11.45pm and had a nightcap before retiring. We had a choice of times to eat for breakfast and agreed to 9.30am. We had a fantastic breakfast of fresh orange juice, toast with our tea and coffee and then a breakfast of bacon, sausages, tomato, mushrooms and fried egg. Superb start to the day and we didn't eat again until teatime!!! Valerie and Ben work extremely hard in their pub and B & B and could not do enough for us. Valerie even phoned us a taxi to get us to our party and gave us a card of a local taxi firm so that we didn't have any problems getting back. Ben is a chef to trade and does all the cooking. They also do high teas on a Sunday afternoon and I would recommend them to anybody. They also cater for all dietary needs including celiacs.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about the B&B and the Pub we were pleased to assist and look forward to seeing you again.

Ben & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

we ate here one night ==it is a really good pub == well furnished and very clean == best toilets I've been in for a while == sure sign of good managment==I had a chicken stroganoff which was just as it should be == all in all great pub food ==well cooked and served in top class surroundings== if you are near be sure to give it a visit as it was worryingly quiet for a friday evening and deseves lots of customers !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordercurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forfar hotels
4.6 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
0.5 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#8 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 16 in Forfar
27 reviews
1 mi away
Rose Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoar Guest House and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoar Guest House and Inn

Address: 42 Brechin Road, Forfar DD8 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Zoar Guest House And Inn Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing