We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a fairy tale!”
Review of Guthrie Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guthrie Castle
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in march 2010.it was perfect.drinks in the castle with music playing and the open fire roaring!then over to the lovely function room for meal and then evening reception.nothing was too much trouble for the staff and made us and all our guest feel soo special!! We loved everything about Guthrie including the beautiful room and bathroom we stayed in on our wedding night-huge bath with roll top and feet.could not fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymooners8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I got married at Guthrie Castle in June 2012 and really couldn't have asked for a setting more perfect for a wedding.
We had the weekend package which included accomodation for 28 of our wedding party and exclusive use of the Castle and grounds for the whole weekend.
We arrived around 2pm on the Friday. The men went off to play golf at the onsite 9 hole golf course ans all us women get our nails etc done in the castle by some beauticians. In the evening after our wedding rehersal in the walled gardens we had an amazing BBQ, the food was gorgeous. It was a great way to spend the night before the wedding and set everyones nerves at ease.
The accomodation itself is beautiful, from the stunning castle rooms to the lovely little cottages on the grounds. There is also a "bridal sitting room" seperate from the bridal suite where my bridesmaids and I got ready in the morning.
The food we had over the whole weekend was lovely (especially the well needed full breakfast on the Sunday morning after the wedding) and we could not fault the service we recieved from all the staff.
The grounds are kept immaculately. The walled garden is just stunning. Our photographer was absolutely spoilt for choice for photos and had us zipping around the grounds trying to capture as much of it as possible.
All in all Guthire gave us an absolutely perfect wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJ1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was as much our pleasure as yours to be part of something special and memorable. We appreciate the time you took for writing a review.
Knowing that our clients and guests were happy makes us happy.

Much thanks,

The Guthrie Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

My daughter was married at Guthrie on 2 August 2012 and I can honestly say it was magical. The castle and grounds are just breathtaking but the staff are the real asset, the care and attention they give is wonderful we travelled from Durham so were lucky enough to have the three day package. I am proud to be able to say we gave the happy couple a day they will always remember. I cannot recommend Guthrie highly enough

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapeel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review. A bit late on the response but are appreciation is no less. We're very happy to be part of giving your daughter and her husband a day they will never forget. We hope to be part of other future life events. Again, much thanks for the review.

The Guthrie Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My partner and i went to look at Guthrie castle as a venue for our wedding and were blown away. It's in a stunning location the gardens are beautiful and the castle is so well kept the rooms are beautifully decorated and very cosy. The staff were also amazing and very friendly and were always on hand to help every step of the way. I would definatly recommend Guthrie castle as a wedding venue or just a place to go and visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the review, Emma. We're happy that Guthrie Castle has made an impression on you. We hope that in the future we get to be part of a special life event. We appreciate the visit and the recommendation.

We hope all the best for you and your partner.

The Guthrie Castle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We attended a small wedding at Guthie castle and it was truly beautiful. The night before the wedding, a barbeque for all guests was put on in the pavillion. The food was very good. Staff were friendly and kept their distance but were there as soon as they were needed. The wedding day itself was amazing. Unfortunatley due to rain, the happy couple were unable to marry outside in the grounds. The staff did a fantastic job of preparing the drawing room in the castle and it looked fantastic. The meal and dance were in the pavillion and the food was fantastic. This place truly stunning and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank InvernessSarah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Our very first review! Thank you, Sarah. We might be a "bit" late on the response but our appreciation has not waned over time. We're glad to know you had a wonderful time on your stay in Guthrie Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
11.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
581 reviews
11.3 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
6.5 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
6.3 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 16 in Forfar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guthrie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guthrie Castle

Address: Guthrie, Forfar DD8 2TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Forfar
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guthrie Castle is a perfect setting for your special day. The estate, which is offered on an exclusive basis to ensure your privacy and security, really is a fantastic location for wedding receptions, set, as it is, in 156 acres of outstanding natural beauty. The Castle grounds include the stunning Walled garden, a private 9 hole Golf Course with its own private loch. Guthrie Castle can provide wedding packages to suit all guest numbers from Just the Two of You up to 250 guests in our purpose built elegant Pavilion. Overnight accommodation is also available on the estate. Guthrie Castle also accommodates a range of corporate events such as senior management meetings/ conference dinner - dances and team building days. For further information please contact the Castle co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guthrie Castle Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing