We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guthrie Castle
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Forfar
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Gordon's(Inverkeilor)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corner Hotel(Carnoustie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Hotel(Montrose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
56
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenstunning groundsfunction suitelovely settingpavilionestateweddingcastlevenueedinburgh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had our wedding at Guthrie Castle July 10th 2014. We had booked the castle for exclusive use from the 9th till the morning of the 11th. We arrived at the castle on the most gorgeous day. The weather was magnificent and showed of the castle and the gardens in all their glory. We had 30 of our closest family and friends living with us at the castle. We checked in and then had afternoon tea/coffee with delicious scones, cake and other pastries in the caste library. All of our guest loved their rooms and the cottages. They are decorated in a very authentic and beautiful way. You just fall in love with every little detail.

We had plenty of time to settle inn and take a walk in the gardens and explore the castle. At 6:30 we had our BBQ at the pavilion. We had invited everyone for a BBQ get together on the 9th, so we had about 70 guest both days. It was a great way for people to meet and strike up a conversation the day before the wedding in a very informal environment. The food was amazing, and the service was great. I was blown away by how nice the buffet BBQ was. Everything looked delicious. We had a little quiz for the grown ups and a bouncy castle set up for the kids. I think everyone had a great time.

We had 7 kids staying at the castle. Its a perfect place for kids, lots of space to run around, things to see, no cars, and gated. The kids had a great time. I do recommend getting a bouncy castle with a slide like we did, it was a hit :-)

The wedding day was also great. Of course! The girls and boys were split into girls and boys breakfasts and then the ladies went of to get ready. We had hair and makeup done in Arbroth, and then got ready in the ladies lounge with Champagne and lots of laughter :-) From the windows of the ladies lounge we could watch as the guest were greeted at the castle as they arrived with champagne and piping music.

We were lucky and had another beautiful sunny day, so we could get married in the walled garden. Everything from there on inn, was little bit of a blur to me. But I am fairly certain I said «I do» and signed some papers. We where then whisked away for photos, while the guests enjoyed lawn games, champagne, delicious canapés, and pimms. The staff where nice enough to save some canapés for the hungry bride and groom when we arrived back :-) then the reception, with more yummy food, speeches, dancing and more laughs. It was the most perfect day, and I wish we could do it all over again.

The staff at Guthrie are amazing. From when we booked the wedding in 2012 till the day we checked out they were fantastic. Answering emails, making recommendations and suggestions and generally being a big help. Especially since we booked everything without ever setting a foot in Scotland. The Web page does not do the castle justice, it is far more impressive in real life. The girls Meaghan and Fiona do their utmost in order to make sure everyone is happy. The are Scottish hospitality at its best. The spirit and the excellence of Guthrie castle would not be the same without these two ladies, they make it the wonderful wedding venues that it is. I would also like to mention the night porter Alan, who was also very helpful and inviting. Especially when I had to run up and down heating up milk for our son, who would not sleep. He was a sweet man, and a great help.

Thank you Guthrie Castle, we would do it all over in a heartbeat!

Love Elizabeth and Thomas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We hired the whole castle for two days with staff and everything ! The castle,s park , garden is a fantastic piece of art ! Its a adventure for life to stay there ! Its perfekt for weddings or other celebriations in life ! Best castle there is ! Yoy can also play golf there in the big big garden !

Room Tip: Take on of the two suites, its like having an appartment !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Liv Nødtvedt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the castle. We are happy that you chose Guthrie Castle and we hope that you will consider us again in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Was a guest at our friends wedding & was asked to stay over the night of the wedding. The setting for the wedding was fantastic, very relaxed & personal to our friends. The walled garden was perfect for the kids 2 play safely without parents worrying where they were. The only piece of advice would be to the ladies with heels on the grass, remember your heel stoppers! We were staying in the castle the night of the wedding. Our room was great & the bed very comfy. All in all a very comfortable stay in a beautiful setting 2 celebrate a very special day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that everything was to your satisfaction. It was a lovely wedding with a lovely couple and lovely guests. Always our pleasure to serve and delight. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have nothing but high praise for Guthrie Castle! My husband and I got married in the walled garden in the grounds of Guthrie and would recommend it as a wedding venue. We dealt with both Fiona and Maeghan during the planning of our wedding. I found them both to be extremely helpful and professional. Any queries we had were always answered promptly. They will definitely help you plan a wedding that is tailored just to your needs. My husband played the 9 hole golf course the morning of the wedding and throughly enjoyed it. The wedding went very smoothly and the waiting staff were very attentive. All the staff put in a long day for the wedding but the quality of service never faltered. The caterers used by Guthrie prepared a fab meal for all. We also opted to hire the accommodation for the night of the wedding and would recommend doing this as it allowed us to spend some extra time with friends and family the morning after the wedding. Overall, we feel we had the perfect day. It all felt so laid back. My only complaint is that it's over now and we'd happily do it all again tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodyannand84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the review and again congratulations to you and your husband. I am sure that Maeghan and Fiona would be happy to hear the wonderful feedback. It is always our pleasure to serve and I hope in the future you would consider using Guthrie again. Much thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As soon as we came to see guthrie castle we fell in love not only with the castle but the gardens also. It was the perfect wedding venue for us as we could have our closest friends and family together for a whole weekend to celebrate our wedding. We arrived on the Friday for a fantastic afternoon tea while the boys went to play golf. We then had some chill out time in our rooms followed by our wedding rehearsal then the best BBQ ever! We had some drinks then off to bed for the big day, breakfast was fab as we were split into boys and girls this prevented us seeing each other the morning of the wedding. We had a lovely bottle of champagne while we got ready for the wedding. Thankfully it was a lovely day and we were able to get married in the walled garden.
Guthrie have the most attentive staff (who we are sure don't actually go home or sleep). They couldn't be more helpful they make sure you have the most memorable time before during and after your wedding. Any questions I had were answered promptly and any calls were dealt with very professionally. You can tell that Fiona and maeghan actually care about what you want on the day they will help with anything. I have nothing but good things to say about guthrie castle and it really needs to be seen to truly be appreciated. Wish I could do it all over again.
Thanks so much to all staff at guthrie.
Mr and Mrs K

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie C, Manager at Guthrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

No, thank you :)

It was our pleasure and it always makes us happy to hear that our guest were happy and satisfied with the whole Guthrie experience. Maeghan and Fiona sends there appreciation and on behalf of the whole staff, you are very welcome :)

Much thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews