We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises much but?”
Review of Kinnettles Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinnettles Castle
Ranked #2 of 15 Forfar B&B and Inns
Leven
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Promises much but?”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely setting nice hard working staff but looking at other stories on other review sites the place promises much but does not deliver value for money. We arrived to be told we were booked in the following night( seems they do this to other travellers) then offer you a lessor room to get you to stay. As the place is isolated it seems that they overbook the good rooms on the basis you are so far from home you will accept a room overlooking the car park! A place that charges £300 a night should not be offering guests rooms without on suite bathrooms or charging £9 on top of room for breakfast that is sourced from the supermarket shelves. No way a 5 star rating is justified for this place. Make sure before you arrive they have the room you asked for at booking.

Room Tip: Check in advance they actually have the type of room you booked before you arrive, ie superior with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Kinnettles Castle, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Colin D,

Many thanks for your feedback and disappointed to learn that you thought Kinnettles Castle did not offer value for money. I will certainly be investigating our booking process and as we have 11 luxurious bedrooms we do not operate any overbooking policy across any of our Amazing Venues. Kinnettles Castle is graded as five star exclusive use venue by Visit Scotland on all our facilities, and service I hope that you will return again to sample it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best wishes,

Ken Buchanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    30
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
105
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

One night stay including dinner, B&B. Hotel looks impressive and room was nice but the bathroom was not en-suite but fortunately the room next door was unoccupied thus giving us sole usage. Not overwhelmed by the gourmet dining as menu offered only choice of two options for all three courses. Starters and desserts were good but the sirloin steak was only about 4oz with very little by way of veg and potato. We were under the impression that we were to get a glass of prosecco but this didn't materialise! Breakfast choices were not up to the standard of a 5 star hotel and we would only give it 4. Staff were very good and otherwise we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Kinnettles Castle, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Foomuch,

Thank you for your feedback and disappointed to learn that our dining experience and breakfast was not up to your five star expectation. I have re-laid your comments to our Head Chef who will take them on board particularly about the size of the sirloin steak. I hope this does not deter you from revisiting Kinnetlle Castle and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Ken Buchanan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I bought the weekend through a special online deal and have to say that I was happy with that price but would have been disappointed if I'd had to pay full price. The hotel is marketed as a 5 star establishment but I would rate it as a 4. The food was lovely, the bedrooms were nice - beware if you have mobility issues as there is no lift, also not all rooms have their own bathroom. The service was friendly and helpful, but there only seemed to be one person covering the dining room and bar at any one time - he's called Oliver and he's lovely. Dinner was served at one large table, which was a good way to start conversations but not a very romantic option. The drinks are quite expensive at £4.50 for a small bottle of beer and £4 odds for a shot with another £2 for the mixer.

Room Tip: There is a gate house which guests stay in, make sure you ask for a room in the hotel if that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank archibr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a B&B deal, fantastic value and the room was outstanding.
We have stayed in many venues of this sort, but this is WOW. Breakfast offering is possibly a let down as it does portray to be 5*. We didn't have dinner as we arrived too late, but I believe the chef has a good background and training.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel is beautiful however staff shortages were very evident, an expensive evening meal certainly did not live up to our expectations. This hotel is quite remotely situated and I found that there was a distinct lack of information regarding thing to do and places to go in and around that area. As a frequent visitor to Scotland I knew of places to visit from previous visits whilst staying in Dundee if however you were a foreign first time visitor you would be at a distinct disadvantage.

Room Tip: Do not go for the two rooms which have a shared bathroom if you are just one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Amazing that's the only word for it. From the friendly and helpful staff to the great food. Would highly recommend. Comfortable beds and beautiful rooms. Hopefully will return soon and enjoy another romantic get away :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lapetrie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent my wedding anniversary here for one night.
Checking in was welcoming and we were allocated an amazing suite with bedroom , shower bathroom with lovely complimentary toiletries also our suite had an upper floor room accessed through a door and up a very windy spiral stairwell to a round room with enough sofas to accommodate a further six people...not really any need for his room but quite exciting none the less.
Our evening meal was lovely included in out travel zoo deal.
Drinks were a bit pricey but for the price we were paying for this outstanding deal in 5* luxury we didn't mind.
The staff couldn't of done enough to help and service was great, made us feel really special.
Location is so tranquil, just fantastic. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: By speaking to the other guest we were in awe of all the rooms Lots of stairs though, not good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengus1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
11.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
17.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
535 reviews
11.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
118 reviews
6.2 mi away
Guthrie Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#12 of 15 in Forfar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnettles Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnettles Castle

Property: Kinnettles Castle
Address: Forfar DD8 1TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kinnettles Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnettles Castle is a truly magnificent boutique castle hotel offering 3 luxury bedroom suites. This stunning boutique castle hotel is set in the heart of the Angus countryside. Located just 25 minutes from Dundee airport, and not too far from Edinburgh and Aberdeen airports, Kinnettles Castle offers luxury accommodation, beautiful grounds and plenty of entertainment opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kinnettles Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinnettles Castle Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing