We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best homemade chips in town”

Osnaburg Bar Limited
Ranked #12 of 52 Restaurants in Forfar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, Gastropub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Osnaburg is where a pub crashes into a restaurant. An excellent gastro pub in which food and drink are treated with equal reverence.Our bar is a warm, relaxed and comfortable environment located beside Asda and Forfar Swimming Pool.You will find something for all tastes in our eclectic menu which ranges from Cajun Chicken to our famous home made quarter pounder burger. We source locally an
Edzell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best homemade chips in town”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

having eaten at the osnaburg bar for several months now ,i feel after the last review i must write another review , anyone that does any cooking at all must realise that to do home made chips in old unfiltered oil doesnt make crisp bit free chips . i have also been in the bar, before food is served and regulary seen the chef clean out the fryers and at end of the chefs shifts. clean the filters , the kitchen is very small and located at the side of the bar which isnt perfect and i suspect that the extractor fan cannot be turned up to full as the fire then draws smoke into the bar area !.Iam a none smoker myself but most catering establishments have private areas for staff to smoke ,the osnaburg unfortunatly doesnt (out of sight out of mind) i have regulary chatted to the chef out side ( who hasnt always got a cigarette in her hand ).I and my family have been again today for lunch as usual everything was superb , great atmoshphere .,great food , keep up the good work to all in the osnaburg !!!! EXCELLENT

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr stathen ”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Very friendly pub, made to feel welcome even from the pubs dog! The open fire was a particular pleasing.
Food was of good standard and well presented.
A few problem though.
The place has a very bad of grease, doesn't smell like the filters or cooking oil gets cleaned enough, my clothes were stinking even the next day.
Also the cook, although very nice and pleasant was always outside smoking in between cooking!! Not very hygienic .
If these problems were sorted out would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Brilliant value for money. great meal and service was excellent. Owner couldn't do enough for us. meal was huge. way to much..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I visited with my mother for lunch today.
We received a very warm welcome, Karen was helpful with the menu, details of today's specials, we ask for starter as main meal and offered extra sides with the meal.The presentation was restaurant quality.The desserts and main meal were absolutely delicious. The food excels pub grub it's restaurant quality. We will be back, we were made to feel extremely welcome.
"Bailey was a star" and if your on a budget this is the place to go very reasonable.
We are talking about our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Forfar Treasure”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Decided to go out for lunch today and almost turned back because of the weather.

So glad we didn't!

We were passing the Osnaburg and I mentioned to my wife that they used to do great mince rolls about 25 years ago when I was regularly in Forfar on business!

Nothing ventured we decided to go in and see if lunches were being served.

We received a warm greeting from the landlady, who took our dripping wet coats whilst getting our drinks.

I started with Puy Lentil Soup, which was a delicious meal in itself, served with huge chunks of bread and butter.

My wife chose a Ploughman's Lunch, which was like no Ploughman's we had ever seen before. Served on a wooden platter, It had a great selection of cheeses, meats, pickles, bread and salad, and would easily have fed both of us

I had Chicken Fajitas, which was served on a wooden platter, with a huge portion of chicken, 3 large wraps,, cheese, cream, sauces! crisps and salad with a portion of fresh homemade chips. Safe to say I won't need anything else to eat for the rest of today at least!

We finished with coffee.

In summary - a friendly warm service, with excellent quality food, and substantial portions. Obviously very popular with locals, and no surprise there.

Well done everyone at the Osnaburg. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBrotyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osnaburg Bar Limited also viewed

 

Been to Osnaburg Bar Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing