We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great meal, thanks”
Review of Strathmore Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glamis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Strathmore is roughly halfway between where my sister and I live, so we meet up here for lunch a couple of times a year. The food's always great and the service friendly and efficient - even when they were amazingly busy last Christmas. There's always a great choice for each course, and you can mix and match the a la carte and the day's special menu. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ElmaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed at the Strathmore for 2 nights whilst at the Countryside festival at Glamys Castle. Room was well appointed and comfortable. Food in the restuarant was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewi1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We didn't stay as we went to Glamis Castle for the day but came out and had a Beautiful meal. I really liked it as it was so cosy with all the candles burning and lovely wee lamps all over. We did wait a wee while for the meal but well worth the wait, as the Bar was busy for meals you dont mind waiting. Would certainly go back.

Well Done All at the Strathore Arms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avril7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My wife wished to visit GLAMIS CASTLE to view the display of Royal family and Bowes- lyon wedding dresses over the years as the late Queen Mother's ( from Glamis castle ) wedding dress of the 1920s is on display at present . Affer visiting the excellently presented castle we moved onto the STRATHMORE ARMS HOTEL in the village of Glamis .

We were there around 1215pm and were taken to a table for two in the dining room and the female assistant asked us about drinks so we had of course non alcholic drinks and we were provided with the menus to look at . The order taken and other people were by this time entering to take up their seats some of course reserved . Our lunch arrived and the fish was obviously very new . The fish and the chips etc on the plane took up the whole plate so large portions .
We did not need a sweet menu as we had sufficient food in that one course .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letham45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Whilst most of the food was good, a child's meal was so over-done so as to be inedible, and this should have been apparent to both the kitchen and waiting staff. Service was unacceptably slow and inattentive. Regrettably not inclined to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dundee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Visited for lunch on the 21st April. Only one staff running ragged trying to serve all of the tables. A fairly small table to try to get all the food and drink on - a jug of water and another 3 glasses would have been impossible! As a result of this it meant you were not easily impressed when the food came - it was OK but the wait had been so long. Wont be going back.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed one night in room 1. Some noise from the laundry room next door. Bit over the top with all the shaded lighting throughout the establishment. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. We had been around the castle, and just called in on the off chance of a room. The included breakfast was excellent. Could hardly move from the table we were so content and full. The dinner we had the previous was very good. Staff were very attentive, but not overly so. And served with a smile. Would we stay again? Yes

Room Tip: Have the full cooked breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glamis
8.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.5 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
130 reviews
13.0 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
19.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
570 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms

Address: 1 The Square, Glamis DD8 1RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glamis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms Glamis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing