We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch for Gran's 80th”
Review of Strathmore Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glamis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have eaten at the Strathmore Arms a few times over last few years and have always enjoyed good food and good service in a pleasant restaurant. 10 of us ate there on Saturday when it was busy. Extensive menu was well tested and everyone enjoyed their meal. Good food at a very reasonable price for the generous portions and variety. Service was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Excellent food with very generous portions. Massive choice with something for everyone. The lads and lass who attended our table were friendly and very pleasant. Service with a smile which was greatly appreciated. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaydee841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is the only one in Glamis, site of the wonderful Glamis Castle, childhood home of Queen Elizabeth the "Queen Mum". Very convenient for a visit to the castle. We arrived without a reservation and scored a nice room,#1, very quiet. It was Saturday night and the Restaurant, also the only game in town, was booming. We got in only because we were staying there. At first we thought it was going to be a disaster as out server was grossly inattentive, but the manager got on the case quickly, that guy disappeared, and from then on it was a delight. Fish pie and lamb shanks excellent. Breakfast (included) was outstanding.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just had an excellent meal at the Strathmore, Glamis. Extensive menu gave a great choice of food.All members of our party were very satisfied with the quality and quantity of their choice. Service was prompt and helpful. Special thanks to Kate , our primary server,was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kirpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just had a one night stay here at the weekend,and we have to say what a pleasant experience it was.The room was very comfotable and clean.The breakfast the next morning was superb.we will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Meal was great, food came out very quick. Only a couple of things let the place down. It is starting to look a bit rough and outdated. Also the waitress could have been a bit better. Never really knew what food was avalaible to order. Also had to go to the bar to get the drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We lived near to this hotel and took friends to eat there .The food was awful cold and tasteless the only place that can make lasagne look and taste like cheese on toast.The service is terrible if you look like you want to complain which we did the staff magically disappear in a puff of smoke.Never to be seen again We did give them another try a few weeks later and sadly it was just as bad would not advise anyone to eat here

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glamis
8.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.5 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
131 reviews
13.0 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
19.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
571 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms

Address: 1 The Square, Glamis DD8 1RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glamis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms Glamis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing