We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathmore Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glamis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmore Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Certificate of Excellence
east anglia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here a few times now and the rooms are big and spacious and food is 10 out of 10 one of the best lamb shanks I have had the staff can't do enough for you and the rooms are spotlesly clean and the glamis castel is only a 2 minute walk

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    57
    6
    13
    10
See reviews for
53
41
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently went here with my fiancé's family to celebrate his birthday. We decided to have a high tea - there were only 6 options in the menu for main courses and one wasn't available. The food took a long time to come and the service was just awful. The food was plonked down and then we weren't even asked if we needed anything else like condiments - which we did! The main course was quite gokd but the veg was badly seasoned and portion control was interesting. We were not checked upon at all during our main course and once we had finisbed we waited a good 15 minutes for our tray of cakes. The cakes were anything but homemade and badly presented. Two of us had coffee and it was not presented in a pot but was stewed coffee from a machine. New enjoy going for a good high tea but this certainly is somewhere we won't be going to again and the only recommendation I will make is to people is not to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PianoGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Warm welcome, excellent service, homely environment. Food cooked to order and custom made to our alternative request and preference - fantastic breaded haddock! Well worth a visit - book to be sure of getting a table.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife Diane and I took our friends Barry & Barbara who are on holiday all the way from New Zealand and after our visit to nearby Glamis castle we took them to the Strathmore Arms Hotel in the village of Glamis . The bar area was busy with customers all having lunch and our Front of the House Manager was working this day being a Wednesday and she took us over to a table for four and took our orders for any drinks and gave us of course their NEW menus .

We ordered our starters and my wife and I had Prawns again from Norway for some reason and not Scottish landed prawns . Our friends ordered their starters - soup of the day (tommato) and they too said that that course was very nice . Then my wife and I both had Battered Haddock with the usual and our friends had Pheasant with the usual and they said too that it was great .

We were all looked after very well by this young lady - front of the house manager and she has a very pleasant nature and really helpful and a great asset to the Hotel in general.
We had a really good meal and the courses were all very hot and very well presented . We did not have the waiting that is mentioned by others on this Tripadvisor .

Maybe its a Wednesday that this member of staff is on duty and she gives 100% service to the customers visiting the hotel in Glamis

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letham45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Had read negative comments on this hotel before, but thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt. Sadly, the reviews were correct. We waited almost an hour for our main course in the bar, which wasn't overly busy. The restaurant was open, I think, but there was no one in the room. On the whole the food was okay and portion sizes were sufficient. But, my venison casserole was very strong and bitter, and the meat was dry, although the dog didn't seem to mind when she ate the leftovers we took home ! The wait for dessert wasn't as long, but by then the damage had been done. Probably wouldn't go back, unless everywhere else was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthfultourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We went to the strathmore arms as heard it was good. However, our experience of the strathmore arms was not even near 'good'. We had to wait around 30 minutes for average starters, then proceeded to wait god knows how long before asking for our starters to be cleared to get our mains. Once our mains arrived (2 hours after arriving at the strathmore arms) we had to ask for drinks, we didn't get our drinks until we had finished our main courses.
Overall I am very dissappointed with the service and I would recommend they get their act together before they put more locals off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had a special meal to celebrate a 40th birthday. First class service and quality of food was excellent. The menu was varied from comfort food to special dishes, a great choice. We dined in the dining room as opposed to the pub. The surroundings were ok but a bit dated. I am sure it's the same wallpaper that was on the last time I was there which is a good number of years ago. Overall no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glamis
8.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.5 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
10.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Red House Hotel
The Red House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coupar Angus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
8.0 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms

Property: Strathmore Arms
Address: 1 The Square, Glamis DD8 1RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glamis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms Glamis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing