We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect country cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dean Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glamis, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABK24
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect country cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in a great location with lovely views of the countryside and walks to enjoy. We visited Glamis Castle and beautiful beaches such as Lunan Bay and all are within an easy drive. Sally (the owner) gave us a warm and friendly welcome and provided us with everything we needed for a perfect break. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very well appointed and Sally has thought of everything. Home baked bread and scones were a lovely touch as were the treats for Ernie our Cocker Spaniel. We would love to stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Thank you for choosing Dean Cottage for your visit to the area.
It was kind of you to take time to leave such a kind review of your stay.
I too hope you will return. It would be fantastic to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy home from home!”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay in Sally's cottage. We sat around the fire playing board games and enjoying family time. Our well behaved Labrador was also allowed to stay and he loved exploring the fields and river close by.

The property is conveniently located for exploring Angus and the surrounding areas. We took in Dundee (20 minutes away) and Glamis Castle (5 minute drive). All amenities nearby at Forfar.

The home baking waiting for us on arrival was a lovely touch!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your kind review. Delighted to know you enjoyed your stay.
You’re all welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdeTae
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

This was a nice location for our first time to Scotland. The host was very sweet and left us a bunch of goodies that we enjoyed during our stay. Everything was cozy and is just as pictured. We had an excellent stay & would recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you all.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay despite encountering the weather that the ‘Mini Beast from the East’ sent us.
Hope you will be able to return sometime in the future and experience more of what this beautiful country & area has to offer. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful old world cottage with modern amenities and dog friendly.”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If I give too good a review then I will narrow the chances of finding a vacancy in the future! So here goes!
A real Scottish Butt n' Ben fully refurbished inside. So cosy in the cold of February and a wood burner as well in the living room. Lovely old Kirk at the rear and a burn close by to walk along. Red squirrels regularly sighted. Close to Glamis and its famous castle and Kirriemuir noted as the birthplace of JM Barrie creator of Peter Pan. Also Bon Scott of AC/DC metal band came from here.Good base camp for investigating the Angus Glens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review. Delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at Dean Cottage. Look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KW1985
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Dean Cottage for 3 nights over New Year and couldn’t have asked for a more perfect little holiday. Sally, the owner, was so helpful in helping us organise our trip and her welcome and hospitality was exceptional - fire lit for our arrival; homemade bread and scones, as well as many other essential kitchen items; a bottle of fizz in the fridge for Hogmanay; and even some homemade treats for our little dog! She is a lovely person and couldn’t have done any more to ensure we were happy and comfortable. The cottage is immaculate and equipped with everything you need. The setting is beautiful - rural but not far from the motorway and the local amenities. We only ventured into town (Forfar) to buy more logs for the stove (Sally provides these for your first night) but we did have a couple of lovely days out walking - at the beach near Montrose and at Glen Clova (several walks of varying length/difficulty starting from Glen Doll car park). Both places are about a 40-60 minute drive away. The farm track leading away from the cottage is also a nice place to walk and perfect for dogs to scamper about too. We didn’t want to leave and we hope to return again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Thank you for the very kind review of your stay at Dean Cottage.
Delighted to know you enjoyed your short break with your pup.
Hope you’ll manage to visit again sometime in the future.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Michigan
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thank you for your extremely kind review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen I
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Easy to find.....lovely and quiet area and just a few minutes from Forfar,Kerrimuir and Glamis .
The cottage was just as I imagined, contained everything you needed, the beds were very comfortable and fresh, and Sally ( the owner) left us a welcome package which consisted of home made bread, scones, cereal ,milk,butter,enough really for your first breakfast plus a lovely bottle of wine........loved our stay and would return in a heart beat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you Karen for your lovely review. So good to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing