We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet-friendly hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Free parking for two cars. Private seating area. Perfect for a BBQ.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Free parking for two cars.
Private seating area. Perfect for a BBQ.
Spacious open plan living room/kitchen with wood burning stove.
Luxury furnishings with a Scottish twist.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Cosy Nights In.
Breakfast welcome hamper to get your stay off to a great start.
Pukka teas for all our guests.
Shower room. Orkney soaps and shower gel provided.
Double downstairs bedroom furnished in Harris Tweed.
Spacious upper floor double bedroom with seating area.
Open plan double bedroom with a further double sofa bed.
Autumn View.
Rack for outdoor boots.
View from the Lodge. December 2017
Snowing outside but so cosy in the Lodge.
Christmas Holidays.
Sunset at the Lodge facing west towards the Grampian Hills.
Pet friendly.
Herons feeding on Montrose basin.
Lunan Bay 20 minutes from the Lodge.
Glamis Castle.
Dunnottar Castle.
River North Esk. 10 minute walk from the Lodge.
Stonehaven Harbour. 20 minutes from the Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Montrose, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew F
1 review
“Perfect pet-friendly hidden gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic location to explore wonderful east coast beaches and attractions. Lorna was a great host and was happy to have our Dog Murphy stay in her beautiful lodge. Spacious and luxurious lodging had everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerakious...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rowanlea”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very nice stay during great weather at the end of May. Accommodation had everything both outside and in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broon71
Calne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury Lodge in the Beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Where shall I start?/
Rowanlea is an immaculate lodge.
I stayed here with my 3 sons in April, this lodge far exceeded my expectations. It was beautifully presented on our arrival, (after our epic drive from Wiltshire) The log burner was already lit and posies of flowers in the vases were a lovely touch.
Immediately felt relaxed.
All of the rooms were so tastefully decorated with a Scottish contemporary feel, the beds were so comfortable and the bedding luxurious.
The kitchen had everything you could need and more, from a coffee percolator, (complimentary ground coffee) a cheese knife to pizza cutter! so no need to bring our stash of essentials! The outside area was also welcoming with pretty flower pots to bespoke wooden furniture.
My favourite memory of our stay was looking out of the patio windows and watching the morning mist rise to reveal the stunning Cairn O Mount in the distance with uninterrupted views and a mug of fresh coffee before the children awoke ( anyone with young children would actually pay just for that!)
A special thank you must go to our host named Lorna for her knowledge of the area and her 'nothing is too much bother 'attitude, both invaluable.
I cannot wait for our next visit to the North East of Scotland when we will definitely be returning to Rowanlea Lodge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Eileen.
Im so glad you enjoyed your short break and I agree the view really is spectacular.
The weather was lovely too which is always a bonus.
I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful log cabin in lovely country setting.”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Rowanlea lodge is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean ,very comfortable and cosey with a log burning stove and every well equipped with all the mod cons you will need. Lorna the owner is very welcoming and helpful. The location is quiet with lovely countryside views but near enough to towns and places of interest to explore. We will highly recommend the lodge to friends and family looking for a wee break away to unwind in comfortable surroundings. Hopefully we will visit again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolypolyf...
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabin”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for a couple days with family. Having two young girls aged 1 and 4 we absolutely loaded the car. We realized when we got there we didn't need to. The cabin is loaded with everything you could ever need. We received a warm welcome from Lorna and were given plenty information of things to do in the area. The view from the cabin is stunning. We were also treated to a fabulous cheese and wine hamper as we booked in February. Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful and luxurious stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
1 review
“Cozy Christmas”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A huge thank you to Lorna for making our Christmas at Rowanlea Lodge totally unforgettable. Upon arrival the fire was blazing, and the festivities were out. We quickly settled in and felt at home. The lodge is set in an amazing location, we went for walks in the mountains (Glen Clova) and strolled down on the sea front (Lunan Bay and St Cyrus nature reserve.) B, our miniature dachshund, was thrilled by all of this too, especially the wood burning stove! She's never slept so much!! Would highly recommend for short getaways or longer holidays. But be warned, you won't want to leave!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thanks for the review Katie. It was lovely to meet you and of course Barrie your wee dachshund. I'm so glad you enjoyed the festive break and hope you visit again soon.
Best wishes
Lorna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuchihas...
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm, welcoming, well equipped, well worthwhile!”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I have stayed in so many forms and styles of short term holiday/travel accommodation over my 70+ years that I cannot give a definite number. But what I can do is remember the bad ones and the good ones, while the mediocore ones blend into an homogeneous calidascope of images. So, my memory images of Rowanlea lodge (as defined by the owner) are as follows... The documentation confirming our booking included the advice to 'phone the owner prior to arriving at the lodge. This proved to be vital as the details that we were given took us directly to the door. On arrival, we found the owner clearing autumn leaves from the grounds. The first sight of the lodge is breathtakingly beautiful. Then the owner comes and greets us at the car. She is a warm, welcoming, genuine individual. We are then invited inside. The time is 4pm (ish), it is late autumn/early winter, almost dark, temperature 2 degrees C. We enter via the rear door and a warm flush of air envelopes us. We progress through a short area with doors on all four sides, one of which leads us to the kitchen/dining/lounge area. On the far side of the room is a small, but extremely efficient, wood fired heater with a clear glass door.
The lodge is, without doubt, the most comprehensively equipped, self catering accommodation I have ever encountered. From the two wicker baskets of fire wood, to the tea maker in the downstairs bedroom. From the abundant towels and face clothes to the child's cot complete with fluffy toys. Complimentary tea/coffee/sugar. Smart TV with 'Netflix', You Tube, inter alia. From the wonderful liquid soaps/body washes to the shower with abundant hot water and simple controls. It has a dishwasher (with detergent pods), a washing machine (with detergent pods), a microwave, a four hob elec. stove/oven, elec. kettle, a huge variety of crockery/cutlery and other kitchen implements. I loved the upstairs environment. It is open plan, it encompasses the entire floor plan of the building. It has a double bed with the most comfortable mattress, wardrobe, a cot for an infant complete with fluffy toys, books, sofa, etc, etc. It is a wonderful place of tranquillity and comfort. Now, for some people, heating may present a problem. Both of the sleeping areas have electric heating. The open area relies on that wonderful wood fired heater. This fire does not burn all night. So, if you cannot light a fire. If you cannot maintain that fire throughout the day, if you are reluctant to get up in the morning and set and light the fire, then it is best that you avoid this place in the colder months. But, for those of us who have been brought up with wood fired apparatus then this is the place to spend a few days of placid, perfectly peaceful, tranquillity. I could go on extolling the virtues of this small, secluded lodging but to do so would become boring, and this place is anything but boring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing