We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be beaten... The best B&B we've stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 36 The Mall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
36 The Mall
Ranked #6 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten... The best B&B we've stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I came to Montrose as part of my university degree in midwifery and was attracted to the Mall because it looked very cosy and clean on the website, with good value for money prices. Ailsa and Pete who own the B&B were so welcoming and went out of their way to make me feel at home, offering me use of their bike to cycle to work and nothing ever seemed to be too much to ask. Breakfast was fantastic, rooms were very clean, beds comfy. TV and fridge in room were an added bonus. The B&B always seems very busy, which is a great sign. I felt like I was welcomed into someone's home rather than staying in a B&B. Thank you so so much to Ailsa, Pete & their family for our great stay!! Pippa and May XX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks Pippa and May. It was lovely to have you stay with us and I enjoyed our afternoon out and about, Pippa. Great to hear that you'll soon be a fully qualified midwife May. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to 36 The Mall at anytime girls!

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed practically everywhere in Montrose I can honestly say this place is as good as the best hotel in Montrose. The owners are lovely, rooms are great and spotless. Location is good, plenty parking. All I can say is book early cause they are always quite busy, which in my mind is a great sign. I don't eat breakfast and got great Sandwiches made for me instead for my lunch. Top notch!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Many thanks for that lovely review. Enjoyed our quick cuppa and chat in the mornings when you collected your sandwiches. Hope you're well and enjoying life!

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at 36 The Mall.We had a lovely visit, again.The en-suit is modern and good the room was comfortable and and spacious and the breakfast was delicious.We were made to feel very at home and would recommend this B&B very highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks Sandy. Glad to welcome you and your family to 36 The Mall anytime.

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Both my wife and I stayed at 36 The Mall Montrose, in the last few days. The house is detached and stands in its own grounds the approach to the house is well maintained and inviting, Car parking is outside the house. the house although on a road is setback and it is in a quiet locationThe reception we received on arrival was outstanding, and could not do enough to put both my wife and I at ease. We had booked a twin room with on-suite and were not disappointed. The room was on the first floor and large well furnished and clean. The on-suite was lovely and just what suited our needs fully, The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and filling there was also juice and cereal on offer along with tea and coffee, The town of Montrose is just a short walk away and the beach is close by.A brilliant location and fully recommend a visit .we are planning to return to the Montrose area and fully intend today at 36 The Mall

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the first floor and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks Phillip. And I know that you and your wife have stayed with us again since you wrote that excellent review. Happy to welcome you into our home at anytime.

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge of allan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

First stop Montrose for 1 night.
36, The Mall - lovely experience, nice large room and clean. Friendly family run (was taken on a tour round town to locate good restaurants!). Good walking location for town, nice breakfast. Would return even though Montrose does not have much going for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malbofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for that review - nice that we could be of help and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

we've been there end of May 2013 with 5 persons. The house is great! Beautiful rooms, decorated in a very good style. Excellent breakfast, and a really nice and friendly girl who served us. Car could be parked in front of the house. Wifi fo free. We can recomend this B&B absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for that recommendation - it was really cold weather when you stayed with us but hope that we helped a bit by leaving the heating on overnight for our guests

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for 2 weeks. Everything was excellent apart from first week where the room was very cold. Now the radiator was very hot, probably due to it being baltic outside(snowing) and it being a big house with high ceilings. Hard to heat. Would definately recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmo_kramer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheat2013, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay despite the incredibly cold weather last year. I hope we helped you cope with this by leaving the heating on overnight for our guests.

Ailsa & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coutts Court Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Chapel House B&B
Chapel House B&B
#11 of 17 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 The Mall

Property: 36 The Mall
Address: 36 The Mall, Montrose DD10 8SS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 The Mall, standing in its own ground, is well established in the Bed & Breakfast portfolio of Montrose. No. 36 Provides high standards of accommodation and catering within a homely atmosphere. The property is well furnished with decoration and furnishings in keeping with the character of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
36 The Mall Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing