We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel shame about breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel shame about breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay at Links really friendly and helpful staff - room large and well decorated and nice are to sit outside on a sunny night with a glass of wine.
Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't up to standard with the bacon sausage and black pudding as tough as old bots felt as thought they had been reheated and not fresh as described on the menu

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    101
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
126
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Bedroom was fair-sized, but decor was a bit faded and downbeat. The most interesting thing about the room were old photographs of Montrose's maritime past. Lovely stained glass at the main stairway, but overall the hotel was a bit dark and dowdy. The food was good, if unsensational. Staff seemed friendly, although there were some lost-in-translation issues in the dining room. I would use the hotel again if I needed to stay in Montrose - which I found to be a very interesting town - but not if I fancied pampering myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here one night for a family function. Room was a good size although bathroom was a bit small. Clean and tidy although I thought it was bit dated. Service was good and enjoyed the breakfast. Fantastic location as near high street and beach. Only down side for me was that I thought it was a bit pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hospitality of the satff were great, helpful and friendly. The hotle it's looks like an old but it was nice. The hotle location is 10 min walking from the railway station. The rooms were clean and in a good condition. The braekfast was great its serve with smile. Overall I like the hotel and the most I like is staff. I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Call in advance and book in the section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Great location in the heart of Montrose, stayed 2 nights while attending Offshore course. The hotel rooms are slighty dated but very clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and efficient. Great breakfast and I recommend the arbroath smokies.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Noting much in Montrose apart from the offshore trg centre so if you want a nice place to sleep eat and fell welcome then the links is it.(If the company is paying). It is one of the dearer ones but breakfast are usually good. The only issue during my week was sometimes very slow at breakfast, one day having to leave for work before it came. The male waiters seemed v slow on the uptake, the ladies were a bit sharper.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roytheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This upmarket hotel does a very reasonable lunch for arround £8, good choice for all the family. I used the hotel some years ago as a business stop over and was deligted to see that standards are still very high.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordDarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
17.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
7.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: Mid Links | Provost Scots Road, Montrose DD10 8RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western
Links Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing