We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely hotel friendly staff clean room,we had a double and it was a huge room for just the two of us. quiet at night which was great and a really fab breakfast. Up there with the best breakfast ive had in a hotel. Will def be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caromac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    101
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
126
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my 2nd stay in the Links at Montrose in the last couple of months, and will be visiting Montrose on a regular basis now with work. Unfortunately I can't recommend staying here. The room I had for a 4 night stay last week was more like one you would find in a £20 a night hostel. Paying over £100 a night you expect much better. As mentioned by many others, the shower was awful .....cold water and not much of that! Walls paper thin (loud snorer in the next room). There's 4 star scottish awards on the entrance wall but I think it must have been awarded some years ago! Had one evening meal in the hotel, service and food good. Breakfast service good but cooked breakfast could be improved with better quality meats.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjboddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a lovely weekend. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The room was very clean, warm and welcoming. Bathroom also good although shower was touch on the weak side. Nice Toiletries. Was nice to sit in the beer garden but the seats and tables are in need of some maintenance. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we booked online we asked for a quiet room, but were placed above the wedding function room subjecting us to a constant 'boom boom' reverberating through the room. The room it self was hot (but it was an extrordinarily hot day) and quite small with two single beds zipped together to make a double. We were moved to a much nicer, larger, cooler room which was a relief and the evening improved from there. The shower however was a hand held tap attachment on the bath, which is ok for 1 night, but ...
The hotel's external sign shows 3 stars and that is fair, but the online description records it as 4 star, which it is not. We paid £95 for the night, which is pricey for what there was. The bar is small and under equiped (2 draft beer pumps and wine by the individual bottle). The restaurant is large, but we only used it for breakfast, which was nice.
The staf were all friendly.
We will not be going back I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

£60 b&b excellent VFM. Easily £150 in London for this quality of hotel and service. Very short walk to town centre and 5 min walf from train. Good quality food for evening meal and Scottish breakfast. decent drinks selection for non-pub. Definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in a lovely room with super comfy bed, sparkling clean bathroom facilities.
Delicious breakfast in the morning....yummy !!!
Have stayed here many times and will continue to go back. A great range of rooms are available and I particularly like the themed rooms :-)
The staff are very friendly and helpful...smooth check-in and equally smooth check-out!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rosemadder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although just staying overnight for a pilgrimage to Status Quo (making history playing Montrose), we had a very pleasant stay. Friendly helpful staff and spacious rooms with comfy beds.
A good Scottish breakfast and hit the road after an efficient checkout.
Definitely added to the 'will go again' list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StevieFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
17.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
7.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: Mid Links | Provost Scots Road, Montrose DD10 8RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western
Links Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing