We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and i spent a night in the Links and loved it. The room we were allocated (room 7) was of a good size and was immaculate.It even had a balcony. The staff at the Links are very polite and helpful , especially the lovely lady on reception. The food was to a high standard and reasonably priced. The location was also very good, around five minutes walk from the main street. My wife and i will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 7 and the rooms adjacent to it have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    106
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
31
135
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We needed a base in the area for a couple of days and booked the Links hotel mainly because price was reasonable, and location quiet but only a short walk from the centre of town and railway station. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by just how good this hotel was.

The main entrance is very attractive with a huge hallway with lovely fireplace, grand staircase and beautiful large stained glass window.

The hotel staff without exception were all very friendly, polite, and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. Our room was in the old part of the hotel (room 12) - it had all the facilities you would expect - good TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, good mirrors and hanging space in wardrobe. The bathroom had bath and shower over the bath - nice toiletries from Arran Aromatics. It is an old building so there were a few cracks high-up in the plaster, but the benefit of the high ceilings is that the bedroom felt very airy. Good thick curtains which provided a complete blackout when you wanted to sleep. Bed very comfortable and we had a very good sleep both nights. The room was at a nice cool temperature and the duvet very cosy.

I had specifically requested a quiet room and the room we were allocated was located far away from the hotel bar so we were not disturbed with any late night noise. There is also a function room at the hotel but there were not any events on while we were there so I can't comment on whether that would have generated any late night noise to the bedrooms.

Breakfast was fantastic - I don't understand the previous review where someone said that the breakfast was skimpy, because we had a buffet breakfast where you could help yourself to as much food as you wanted - cereals, fruit juices, yoghurt, fruit and the full range of cooked breakfast items. Service was very efficient and the food all delicious - especially the scrambled eggs.

I had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant on one of the two nights we stayed there and was very impressed with the standard of food. Sometimes restaurants in hotels are not that great, but the Links Hotel obviously employs some very decent chefs because my meal was lovely. I had a salad starter which was beautifully presented and included a lovely Caboc cheese which I had never tried before. My main was lasagne and again beautifully cooked and presented.

We will definitely return to this hotel next time we are in the area. Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariongEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The "Angus Breakfast" was skimpy. Since when did any hotel give one third of a potato scone and half a small tomato for the main breakfast?
The rooms were overpriced for a hotel that is in serious need of a revamp.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Whilst the hotel still has some character and charm, it was in need of some attention to the decor and grounds. Staff were very efficient and helpful, but not always as 'warm' as we have had in other hotels. The room was large and very clean, but lacked decoration and was rather overly bland. Out side on the balcony, we could see empty cola bottles and a can of red bull in the two rooms adjacent to ours. Breakfast was good. Felt we paid far too much for one night and have had many much better deals recently around the east of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From arrival to departure the Staff were fantastic, all were very helpful and went the extra mile.
Food in the restaurant was also excellent, one of the best fillet steaks I have ever tasted,
My room in the new wing was ultra modern and was cleaned daily to a high standard.
The hotel is well located and various day trips up and down the coast were easily accessible.
I would recomend this hotel any time

Room Tip: The new refurbished part of the hotel have the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was large and well equipped but we had to ask for more tea etc. the first day and the room was not cleaned at all on the second day. The reception person did not seem to very helpful or worried about the situation. There was also a problem having dinner in the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dotdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the newly refurbished part of the hotel. Our room was first class, large and spacious, excellent shower with nice little extras like shower gel/shampoo etc, nice and quiet. Would definately stay here again and a special mention for the restaurant the food is excellent both breakfast and dinner was delicious. The bar and restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful and took time to chat as we had questions about the area. Excellent base.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally4hpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
304 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#5 of 5 in Montrose
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
230 reviews
17.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coutts Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: Mid Links | Provost Scots Road, Montrose DD10 8RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western
Links Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing