We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit to Montrose”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Montrose and the stay at the Park Hotel and gain I was very pleased with my stay, the room was very clean and tidy and value for money. I booked a breakfast in my room as I was working on the computer and the staff arrived on time and with a nice selection of food and a very enjoyable breakfast and a good start to the day. Would have no issue with staying again in March 2014 when I am back in Montrose on business - a decent hotel and good value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've been meaning to try this place for ages. We finally did today, for lunch. The menu and specials board did not look very exciting; just the usual fare. However, when the food arrived it was excellent and very competitively priced! The cullen skink (with warm bread rolls) was superb, as were the chicken goujons, which looked like they'd been battered in house. My main course was penne pasta & mushrooms, which had a rich ceamy sauce and came with delicious garlic bread. Mrs StuFife had steak pie with potatoes, peas and carrots; simple food but wonderfully well presented, using high quality meat. Very tasty! Including a large wine and a pint, the total for two large courses was £35, which is not bad, and there were even cheaper options on offer. All this in quiet, comfortable and spacious surroundings. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StuFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here after a recommendation from a business colleague after meetings in Aberdeen, it's just over an hour from Aberdeen by car. The Park hotel has ample free parking, free wifi in the room (and a good strong signal) and clean rooms, although the decor is a little dated and generally they could do with a little upgrade! A very good option for contractors working in the area, at a cost of just over £90 a night it is well worth a look, breakfast is in the form of a hot and cold buffet, I asked for poached eggs on toast and it was no trouble, and they were very good. I didn't eat dinner at the Park Hotel as we went out and the night street is less than 10 minutes walk, or a minute or two by taxi.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank M4rkbr4dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Two night stay. Room warm and clean. TV didn't work but didn't ask to get it fixed as not particularly fused. Staff friendly. Breakfast excellent. Local smokie and smoke salmon lovely. Hotel generally a bit tired looking but good V4M.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Come to the Park quite often as it's only across the road hehe. Always get a lovely meal and prompt service. Reasonable prices and a wide range of choices between specials board and menu. Was there last Friday for a celebration meal and it was fab

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrsA767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

booked hotel last minute and was quite impressed with it on arrival check in was prompt.was told that the only time available for dinner was 8pm onwards after looking about montrose we decided to eat in hotel as it got good reviews the staff said there were no tables before 8pm so came down to dinner and there were about 10 empty tables.the dinner was good we both had steaks then we said to a waitrese about some off our misgivings and she got the undermanager who dealt with our complaints she said the manager was on holiday till the wednesday.we also complained about one off the bar staff who looked as if he did not want to be there.the undermanager dealt with our concerns very well.we enjoyed our stay in montrose and our room was very good room 205 after the barman problem we went out for a few drinks to some local pubs which had a better atmosphere.the manager tried phoning me once i got home but i did not get his call.he did not phone again.the breakfast was good.i would come back again if some off the staff were more friendly.

Room Tip: room 205 overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrobertson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, found it a dump for the price. A single cost 100 pounds = 160$ US dollars

Room very small and dated
Bed sheets clean
Bath small
Bath tub old and stained
Breakfast OKish. No fresh fruit
Good receptionist
WIFI ok but poor in some rooms

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank TripMember071320151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
143 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#5 of 5 in Montrose
35 reviews
17.8 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
7.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 61 John Street, Montrose DD10 8RJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range: £85 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing