We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the park hotel last Saturday as had a wedding at a nearby venue. Wasn't sure what to expect, but have to say I was very impressed. When we arrived we knew we were earlier than check in but had a wedding to get changed for. The friendly receptionist was very obliging and allowed us an earlier check in. We had a lovely room. I found the buffet breakfast top notch and the staff very friendly. If down this neck of the woods again, would def not hesitate to book in to the park hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank y p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our breakfast selection is delicious - my favourite is the scrambled eggs!!
We hope you manage to visit us again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    90
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
37
98
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel was busy when we checked in but the 2 ladies on reception efficiently dealt with the queue and we were soon checked in. Only a 2 minute walk to the main street and shops.The room was slightly dated but clean & comfortable which is the main thing. The buffet breakfast was excellent, the food was piping hot and tasted lovely. Believe it is all locally sourced. Recommend staying here for the breakfast alone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefuly it won't be too long before you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked in for 2 nights to attend the Mo Fest - the location was perfect but when we went to check in, a crowd of happy wanderers were strewn all over the reception area and to add insult to injury, I nearly took a flier over a pair of hiking boots! Our room was a bit tired but the beds comfy. The location could not have been better but we were disappointed, as residents, to have to wait till 8.30 pm for dinner - having waited that long, it was not the best filet mignon in the world. Someone must have forgotten to tell the chef that there should not be blood on the plate and that the sauce should look appetising as well as tasting good. Our room was quiet so that was good. Second night I had penne with the what was billed as a lemon cream sauce with mushrooms. Oh dear - bland as can be. I wonder if the chef tastes what he serves because that should definitely not have reached the restaurant - having said that my husband had pork ribs which were really delicious. On the plus side the staff were exceptional and all were British which is indeed a treat. I think the breakfast buffet should be moved as I kept tripping over happy wanderers pushing their way in to get their food - it the buffet was in a different place, it would be possible to get in and out of the restaurant without difficultly. The breakfast itself was good though. I would visit the hotel again as upgrading is taking place and the rooms will eventually be modernised. Hope the chef learns a few more tricks though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
When you stayed with us, we were hosting a large event, so at that time, the hotel was very busy.
The dinner for the event was being served from 7.30pm and around that timer, we restrict the available meal times so that diners will not have a long wait in-between courses for their meal once ordered.
We were disappointed to learn that your experiences in our restaurant were not up to our usual high standards. I so wish you had expressed your grievances at the time so we may have been given the opportunity to rectify the situations.
I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and we would look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is a real good hotel to live in Montrose, Aberdeen. The complimentary buffet was a mixture of both veg and no-veg dishes with best service. The hotel is little bit costly but worth enough to live in. It was a great experience living in the hotel with such a great staff who are ready to help you every time. I really loved eating biscuits which they provided complimentary. The television is not so great and room sizes on first floor are smaller then that of ground floor but sufficient enough to accommodate you and your family.

Room Tip: Take room on first floor and not on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKJ_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay.

Here's to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014


The reception area was welcoming. The staff were attentive and friendly. The breakfast on Saturday morning was lovely and fresh.
The room was clean and tidy but tired and dull. The mold spots on the ceiling in the shower were horrid and the flaking paint on the bathroom window was somewhat to be desired. The section we were staying in - Room 223 - The corridors smelt like a urinal, not pleasant. The walls must be paper thin as we were woken with the sound of the phone vibrations in other rooms never mind the ring tones. (no we did not complain at the time, the hotel was holding a wedding, we were attending an external wedding and many of our friends were also staying in the hotel. This wouldn't have left much room for us to be moved) The breakfast on Saturday was non greasy, fresh and looked good. Sunday morning however was different. overcooked produce in pools of grease for the fried goods and dried up black pudding and Haggis. We got half baked toast which we ate anyway as it was busy and the waiting staff were all rushing about. I completely accept Sunday service to be busy but that's not an excuse to provide a lesser standard. Disappointing stay, the hotel has so much potential but needs much work done. If the rooms are in waiting for an upgrade and are of poor standard then remove them from service or offer them at a discounted price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopaholic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We were disappointed to hear of your experiences in room 223 recently. We were un-aware of the issues you have highlighted and thank you for bringing them to our attention and please be assured that they have now been addressed.
We serve breakfast on a Sunday between 8am & 10am. A rush normally occurs around 9.30am once the guests have enjoyed a longer lie-in. We are sorry that you experienced a sub-standard level of service in comparison to your breakfast on Saturday.
We hope we get the chance to offer our hospitality to you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is my third review for the Park Hotel so hopefully I will not be repeating myself too much, stayed in room 5 this time and arrived early evening and after a hard day was happy with the comfort and quality of the room yes its not 5 star and you will see a fee knocks and marks on the wall if you start looking for them. The furniture and bedding etc are all very new and modern and all in very good order, I ordered room service for the first time as I was being too lazy and tired to go down to the bar. I was very surprized and pleased with the quality, taste and amount of food which was very well received after the day I had. I am in and around Montrose every two months are so and will be back at the Park no need to change when you are happy with the service. Must say also the two young girls who dropped off the room service were extremely pleasant and set a good example for the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying on your own pay the extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really do appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you again in the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed two nights at the Park Hotel and I can say nothing but good about this experience. Our two rooms were spacious, clean and beds really comfortable. Breakfasts were good and served by friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant one evening and selection, food and service could not be faulted.

Hotel not 5 star but provided all we needed.

We found the Park Hotel a good choice for our visit to Montrose and its central location meant we could park up in the free car park provided at the hotel and walk to local places of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelMontrose, Front Office Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
7.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
17.8 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 61 John Street, Montrose DD10 8RJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing