We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but poor soundproofing in double rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven
Ranked #2 of 19 Montrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. The width of the double room is exactly what you see in the photos, bed and two cabinets and the same small space at the bottom of the bed. No wardrobe, just a small rail with 4 hangers. Don't take a large case, little room between the door and the bed. For one night the room would have been ok, but the double room next door was also occupied and even at normal voice level we could hear the man speaking so clearly that we could have joined in the conversations. This is because it has originally been one room that has been divided into two with a thin partition wall. Lying in bed next to the wall it was like being in the same room as them.

If I had been in any other room or if next door had been empty, I like other reviewers, would have been unaware of this aspect.The owner said in the morning that he could have moved us, but we didn't know it was going to be like that when we went to bed. He said he was unaware it was so bad and it was like that when they took over the business. He will see what he can do.

I would suggest, restore the space to one room (even though clearly recently renovated) and charge a bit more on all the rooms. I would have paid a bit more. Then, the quality of the room will match the quality fresh food and reputation for friendliness.

Room Tip: Don't book either of the two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed one night in the old fishermans cottage on the harbour as hotel was fully booked and was pleasantly surprised, wonderful spacious spotlessly clean accommodation with stunning views we ate in the Anchor restaurant for dinner which was awesome would love to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Been here a few times. lovely little gem just outside Montrose. Food looks amazing fresh lobster and other seafood foods could be classed as cordon bleu menu. friendly staff and punters in a nice ambience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GOOFY27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The friendly welcome & service and the outstanding food by Greg & his team is just amazing .... Everything is freshly made and a seafood lovers dream, although plenty if you prefer your meat. I really can't praise this little gem highly enough and all the girls are so friendly, I can't think of anyone saying a bad thing. 5 stars given by the Montrose Review is well deserved. Well done guys we continue to come back & are never ever disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We live just up the coast from Johnshaven and discovered it on a day out. Thinking that the Anchor looked clean and inviting I booked a surprise weekend away for my partner's birthday. We arrived late Saturday afternoon, went to the bar, were met with some friendly staff. We had a couple of drinks and some banter with the bar staff and then headed up to the room.
It was compact, but had a great nautical interior scheme and was ample for the one night.

We ate in the restaurant upstairs and it was some of the nicest cuisine I have had in a long time. Breakfast the next morning was also a treat!

I had brought cake which we had in our room and the staff were more than helpful in getting a knife and plate!

Many thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curly0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We didn't have accommodation for last night, so we stopped in Johnshaven and were lucky enough to get a room in the Anchor. The room was small but nice and comfortable, but the best aspect of the Anchor is most certainly the food. We had fresh seafood for dinner and it was absolutely delicious! You can watch the fishermen outside the hotel bringing in the catch and later you eat it yourself. Breakfast was also very good; the only thing to change would be to play different music from the one at dinner, or at least change the CD as it seems to be played so much that it is damaged.
We had a lovely evening digestive walk along the seashore and also a morning walk and the village is very picturesque and pretty. If ever we will visit this part of Scotland again, Johnshaven and the Anchor will be on our list!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Céline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

lovely room (4) small, but worked for me. comfy bed lots of sham pillows. room comfortable, not too warm or too cool. tv ok and a luxury to watch in bed.

ate in the bar. Wonderful starter, 3 scallops with black pudding and bacon in a cream sauce. sweet and savoury. delish. main was warm seafood salad, lobster, prawns, crab claws and smoked salmon with a rocket salad. lovely and satisfying. didnt have a pud. the orkney ale was a winner too. all the specials looked good (as did the main menu) but i dont regret my choices. the staff were very friendly and helpful. just wish i'd had space for a demerera rum & hot chocolate.

good nights sleep and even managed to cope with a corner opening power shower. the breakfast was great and they provided good marmelade for the all important bacon and marmelade sandwich.

a bit expensive for a single but as a spur of the moment late booking it was a good choice with the added bonus of superb food.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank tamsin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
18.8 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
7.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
317 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
299 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Hillside Hotel
The Hillside Hotel
#8 of 19 in Montrose
53 reviews
7.6 mi away
Coutts Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven

Address: New Road | Johnshaven, Montrose DD10 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range: £59 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing