We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and fabulously fresh seafood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven
Ranked #2 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and fabulously fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Anchor Hotel is a wee gem for those who want to get away from it all but still be in the heart of the tourism jewel that is Angus. The friendly, family-run hotel boasts quaint and well appointed bedrooms, beautifully decorated (we stayed in an en-suite family room, with a double bed and adjoining room with two single beds which had a partial seaview) and two fabulous restaurants - one for more casual dining and another for special occasions - where breakfast is also served. The hosts are welcoming, but not on top of you all the time and the village itself would be picturesque no matter the weather - although we enjoyed gorgeous sunny weather. The fresh seafood landed on the harbour wall and was then sent to the hotel for serving up - it's that fresh. However, for those not a fan of seafood, the menu also boasts lots of other options. We will be back as we fell in love with the village as a whole and the hotel in particular. If you happen to be in the vicinity passing through it's worth visiting for the food and view alone. Enjoy! We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Family room had a seaview which would have been nice to sit at and read a book if the weather hadn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    44
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
59
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. The width of the double room is exactly what you see in the photos, bed and two cabinets and the same small space at the bottom of the bed. No wardrobe, just a small rail with 4 hangers. Don't take a large case, little room between the door and the bed. For one night the room would have been ok, but the double room next door was also occupied and even at normal voice level we could hear the man speaking so clearly that we could have joined in the conversations. This is because it has originally been one room that has been divided into two with a thin partition wall. Lying in bed next to the wall it was like being in the same room as them.

If I had been in any other room or if next door had been empty, I like other reviewers, would have been unaware of this aspect.The owner said in the morning that he could have moved us, but we didn't know it was going to be like that when we went to bed. He said he was unaware it was so bad and it was like that when they took over the business. He will see what he can do.

I would suggest, restore the space to one room (even though clearly recently renovated) and charge a bit more on all the rooms. I would have paid a bit more. Then, the quality of the room will match the quality fresh food and reputation for friendliness.

Room Tip: Don't book either of the two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed one night in the old fishermans cottage on the harbour as hotel was fully booked and was pleasantly surprised, wonderful spacious spotlessly clean accommodation with stunning views we ate in the Anchor restaurant for dinner which was awesome would love to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Been here a few times. lovely little gem just outside Montrose. Food looks amazing fresh lobster and other seafood foods could be classed as cordon bleu menu. friendly staff and punters in a nice ambience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOOFY27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The friendly welcome & service and the outstanding food by Greg & his team is just amazing .... Everything is freshly made and a seafood lovers dream, although plenty if you prefer your meat. I really can't praise this little gem highly enough and all the girls are so friendly, I can't think of anyone saying a bad thing. 5 stars given by the Montrose Review is well deserved. Well done guys we continue to come back & are never ever disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We live just up the coast from Johnshaven and discovered it on a day out. Thinking that the Anchor looked clean and inviting I booked a surprise weekend away for my partner's birthday. We arrived late Saturday afternoon, went to the bar, were met with some friendly staff. We had a couple of drinks and some banter with the bar staff and then headed up to the room.
It was compact, but had a great nautical interior scheme and was ample for the one night.

We ate in the restaurant upstairs and it was some of the nicest cuisine I have had in a long time. Breakfast the next morning was also a treat!

I had brought cake which we had in our room and the staff were more than helpful in getting a knife and plate!

Many thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We didn't have accommodation for last night, so we stopped in Johnshaven and were lucky enough to get a room in the Anchor. The room was small but nice and comfortable, but the best aspect of the Anchor is most certainly the food. We had fresh seafood for dinner and it was absolutely delicious! You can watch the fishermen outside the hotel bringing in the catch and later you eat it yourself. Breakfast was also very good; the only thing to change would be to play different music from the one at dinner, or at least change the CD as it seems to be played so much that it is damaged.
We had a lovely evening digestive walk along the seashore and also a morning walk and the village is very picturesque and pretty. If ever we will visit this part of Scotland again, Johnshaven and the Anchor will be on our list!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Céline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
7.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
7.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
12.9 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven

Property: The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven
Address: New Road | Johnshaven, Montrose DD10 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing