We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but with a little fine tuning would be fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven
Ranked #2 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great food but with a little fine tuning would be fantastic place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location is great, just a little way from the sea/harbour, shame it has limited outdoor seating, but they cannot do much about that. The food and menu choice is first class, in fact too many choices!! of lovely fish / food, and certainly the food our party enjoyed could not be faulted in any way, from Haggis bites - Sole and to the Lobster all were first class.

As a constructive criticism, to improve the experience even more (and I speak as a former restaurant and bar group owner) some tiny points need to be looked at,

The bar and games room are very dark, and with poor lighting, not great for atmosphere or for people with poor eyesight.
Display Fridges behind the bar were not illuminated, or well displayed, so hard to see anything or make a choice.
No light at all in the cubical of the gents, so when the door closes you are totally in the dark!!
Far too many toilet blocks in the urinals, one in each is more than enough as the smell for a food establishment is overpowering and makes many feel ill.
Unable to use outside area as the drains had exploded!!or that is what we were told.
Bar staff choosing "there own" choice of music on the duke box which may not always be suitable for diners and customers!
No traditional beer available as " bar-staff not strong enough to change the barrel" but with many strong armed chefs around the bar, seems hard to believe!

These are just my opinions, and did not stop us all enjoying a lovely meal, with a lovely lady serving us, who was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaninmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    45
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
60
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Were out house hunting and thought we would try here again after a disappointing first visit. We found the food very average. I had the chantrelle starter which was very greasy and the wilted rocket and spinach was unappetising The toilets were in need new flooring as the vinyl flooring was repaired with black adhesive tapes and the toilet seats were all askew. The waiting staff were very pleasant and helpful.The chef was wandering about in dirty whites which was very off putting. I do not think I would return here to eat but might pop in for a drink.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Annea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a meal at the Anchor while visiting family who were camping in Johnshaven. The hotel/pub's location just off the harbour affords visitors a pre-dinner vista over the North Sea and allows them to provide incredibly fresh seafood for those who are so inclined. We ate in the bar area but they do have a fine-r dining area upstairs which can be booked out. The menu sports traditional pub grub classics but boasts an extensive seafood section and is very vegetarian-friendly. In fact, at least 25-30% of what is available either is or can be made vegetarian and this was a lovely surprise!

All of the food that we had was tasty, well presented, fresh and appeared to be wholly home-made and the servers were friendly. Particular highlights included the nachos with super fresh, almost definitely home-made salsa, the fresh and appropriately smelly fishy offerings, the vegetarian stir fry which exceeded expectations, the subtle and fresh lemon cheesecake and perhaps most importantly the sticky toffee pudding with absolutely delicious butterscotch sauce which topped my own personal (and fairly considerably researched) sticky toffee pudding rankings.

A big thumbs up from us! I'm sure we'll be back soon. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JSW390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Anchor Hotel is a wee gem for those who want to get away from it all but still be in the heart of the tourism jewel that is Angus. The friendly, family-run hotel boasts quaint and well appointed bedrooms, beautifully decorated (we stayed in an en-suite family room, with a double bed and adjoining room with two single beds which had a partial seaview) and two fabulous restaurants - one for more casual dining and another for special occasions - where breakfast is also served. The hosts are welcoming, but not on top of you all the time and the village itself would be picturesque no matter the weather - although we enjoyed gorgeous sunny weather. The fresh seafood landed on the harbour wall and was then sent to the hotel for serving up - it's that fresh. However, for those not a fan of seafood, the menu also boasts lots of other options. We will be back as we fell in love with the village as a whole and the hotel in particular. If you happen to be in the vicinity passing through it's worth visiting for the food and view alone. Enjoy! We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Family room had a seaview which would have been nice to sit at and read a book if the weather hadn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. The width of the double room is exactly what you see in the photos, bed and two cabinets and the same small space at the bottom of the bed. No wardrobe, just a small rail with 4 hangers. Don't take a large case, little room between the door and the bed. For one night the room would have been ok, but the double room next door was also occupied and even at normal voice level we could hear the man speaking so clearly that we could have joined in the conversations. This is because it has originally been one room that has been divided into two with a thin partition wall. Lying in bed next to the wall it was like being in the same room as them.

If I had been in any other room or if next door had been empty, I like other reviewers, would have been unaware of this aspect.The owner said in the morning that he could have moved us, but we didn't know it was going to be like that when we went to bed. He said he was unaware it was so bad and it was like that when they took over the business. He will see what he can do.

I would suggest, restore the space to one room (even though clearly recently renovated) and charge a bit more on all the rooms. I would have paid a bit more. Then, the quality of the room will match the quality fresh food and reputation for friendliness.

Room Tip: Don't book either of the two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed one night in the old fishermans cottage on the harbour as hotel was fully booked and was pleasantly surprised, wonderful spacious spotlessly clean accommodation with stunning views we ate in the Anchor restaurant for dinner which was awesome would love to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Been here a few times. lovely little gem just outside Montrose. Food looks amazing fresh lobster and other seafood foods could be classed as cordon bleu menu. friendly staff and punters in a nice ambience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOOFY27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
7.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
7.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
12.9 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven

Property: The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven
Address: New Road | Johnshaven, Montrose DD10 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel, Johnshaven Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing