We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment in a period home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mall House

Mall House from the walled garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room Sitting room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room
Sitting room and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
King sized sleigh bedroom
Ensuite
Twin Bedroom
Adult sized bunk bed room
Lower bunk bed
Walled garden
Summer House
View from Summer House
Snow at Mall House
Evening Sun on Mall House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montrose, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Midick
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment in a period home”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you need self catering accommodation in Montrose you must stay here. A wonderful apartment with bags of room and all mod cons with access to the most beautiful walled garden. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would book it again if in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. it was a pleasure to have your family to stay. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
New Orleans, United States
1 review
“Pleasant stay, beautiful property”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We used the Mall House as our base for a 1 week trip to Scotland. Rented a car and drove all over the country, then returned "home" each night with the exception of 1 when we stayed "off campus" as part of a tour. Sally was delightful and very helpful both in planning and after our arrival. The house had everything we needed with very few exceptions. Having a washer and dryer that actually worked was a bonus for us because we didn't have to come home from vacation and spend 2 days doing laundry!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitor33...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A warm welcome and excellent location with access to beautiful large garden”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The personal touches such as fresh flowers on arrival were appreciated. The garden flat is within an early 19 century house so it is characterful - don't expect modern minimalist if that's your taste - but very comfortable for a holiday stay. Despite having two young children as part of our party, they were also made to feel welcome and really appreciated being able to enjoy the lovely big garden as did the adults. The flat has everything needed for a stay, plus extras like the toy cupboard, and is so central that a car is needed just for venturing out of town to the surrounding beautiful beaches and countryside. We hope to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ideally located, well appointed self-catering accomodation in Montrose”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booked this accommodation as a base for visiting family and friends in Montrose. The place is centrally located, in easy walking distance to the town center, though is still peaceful and homely. The apartment is well equipped, very clean and has the wonderful host to help with any need you require. I enjoyed my stay, and would not hesitate to recommend to those looking for a quiet self catering stay in Angus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HettyFiFo
Leicestershire, England
2 reviews
“Absolutely lovely surpassing all expectations”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can't find enough good things to say about this appartment. We had a fantastic week staying in the garden flat. It easily hosted 5 of us - parents, kiddies & Granny too. The appartment was beautiful, very well equipped and really exceeded all our expectations. The walled garden we had access to was an oasis for all and the owner is such a lovely welcoming person. We can't wait to stay here again & really would recommend staying here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieSue...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent four days at the Mallhouse whilst visiting my grandson who lives in Montrose. We loved it the apartment was comfortable and cosy catering for all our needs. Even a toy cupboard which kept my grandson entertained for hours. The gardens are beautiful and we had gorgeous weather so we got to spend time enjoying them. Would definitely recommend and love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plenty of space and large rooms
Liked least: was a little cold really needed the heaters which could add extra cost if used
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn48
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five stars are not enough”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Although primarily a holiday let, we stayed there for a week while we dealt with a family crisis. Sally, the owner, was a star. She was happy to take a last minute booking and to be flexible on the arrival and departure times. She was also willing to allow us to switch to her other property for the last two days of our stay, as there was a booking for the flat. We had family coming and going - some staying over - and Sally took it all in her stride. In addition to the help Sally gave us, the property itself is stunning. The accommodation is to a very high standard and the grounds - in which we had freedom to roam - were a haven of peace in a difficult time. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care of the owner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing