We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bar lunch”
Review of Northern Vaults

Northern Vaults
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Montrose
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Popped into the vaults for a quick meal(not one of our regular pubs) it was very quiet but it was a Tuesday lunch time met the new owners and had a good old natter decided on the steak pie from the menu what a perfect choice the whole meal was great and very good value only fault was to much on the plate as I hate to leave food,will be going back again might even make it a weekly outing brilliant

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Connector757838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

Just back from from the vaults after having lunch. I had the steak pie and my mother had the pork that was on the specials board, both were lovely. I don’t often have steak pie when out as can be a bit of hit or a miss but this was lovely. The pork also looked fantastic. Will be back for sure 😊

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank gordonbchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

If your looking for a meal in Montrose, don't look any further. This pub has the best an the most reasonably priced menu for miles around. Recently changed the chef and the manageress all for the better. give it a go, I'm certain you will not regret it.
Very friendly bar and diner, the locals love it too.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Great food from a good menu, menu has reduced portions for seniors and also for children. friendly and sometimes has good music in afternoons,

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taylrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Stayed in Montrose for 2 days and wandered the length and breadth of the town and tried all the pubs. There seems to be a local law against clear windows in pubs so most bars are small, dark and faceless (what American's would call "dive bars").

Northern Vaults was by far the best pub in town on all counts. It was larger than most, with a more airy feel and light from the back garden. The staff were incredibly friendly, and there was good music playing and plenty of space to sit or stand at the bar.

The fact they do home cooked food just seals the deal - the food was all freshly cooked and tasted fantastic, with a good selection of dishes. I'm only sorry I ate at the Picture House (Wetherspoons clone) for variety, as a second meal here would be great!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank fernandesbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Northern Vaults also viewed

 

Been to Northern Vaults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.