We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food,Poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roos Leap

Roos Leap
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Mexican, British, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food,Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went tonight for a meal,with 3 others,table was booked ,but this made little difference to the time we had to wait.this has happened a few times now,and they seem to overbook all the time,you are waiting for the table you have booked to become free,and the area you have to wait in is sooooo small.the food is good,not great,good,and I guess its average cost,have had a lot better and lot better service locally and beyond.i will go back,as it was a family invite,but wont return if it is my choice,pity,as it was great years ago when original owner had it.Too noisy also,and waitresses under a bit of stress,and rushed too.Was with a work thing there in Dec ,and service was exactly same.....
Make your own mind up ,thats what this review game is all about.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gcd74773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    164
    61
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for a meal with the wife, a friend a 2 kids having heard good things about the place.

We were not disappointed, homemade burgers were excellent (I'm fussy about burgers and won't buy any pre made ones - even from the butchers - and these were about the best i have had when eating out).

Kids meals were homemade and good value and the deserts were also good.

Would have been 5 stars had the chips been home made.

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LPKLPKLPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went here for a family meal for my son's 8th birthday and the food & staff were fabulous as usual.The food portions were more than adequate and the taste was superb. the service was excellent and the staff very attentive towards the customers...even the children. they brought his cake out and all the staff even sung "happy birthday " to him at our table.
Highly recommended place to eat and very afordable for the amount and quality of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArleneD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Tasty food, portions fab, great price. I visit as a family or socially with friends. They easily adapt the menu to your taste

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Experience ruined by awful waitress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Working in the area, I came twice in June. The first visit was ok. There was a wait for the food, but the food was very nice, especially the chicken goujons in beer batter. It was very busy, and it did feel a bit crammed, but we felt that it must be good if everyone wants to eat there. The portions are very large and overall it was a nice meal.
The second time we came was completely different. We were served by a young girl with dark hair. She was quite unfriendly and seemed completely disinterested. We were a table of 4...Three meals came out and after a couple of minutes the waitress came and asked if everything was ok, to which we pointed out that one meal was missing (we were amazed she hadn't noticed). She went off and came back to say it would be a couple of minutes. One of our party ordered a steak, the other a roo steak.. there is quite a big price difference. When the two meals came out, they looked exactly the same. I asked the waitress which was which. As one had also ordered medium cooked and one medium rare. The roo steak was pointed out by the waitress. When a different waitress came over, I again asked which steak was which, she said they were both the same. She went off to the kitchen, came back apologised and told us the second steak would be charged at the lower price, we weren't offered the roo steak which was what was ordered.
The worst part was, after being given the bill, we were waiting ages for the waitress to come so we could pay. She was completely disinterested, I (without exaggerating) was waving my hand in the air, loudly calling hello?, the waitress was awful, she wasn't doing anything just stood staring in the opposite direction. A waiter finally got the girls attention and she came over with the card machine. She actually asked us if everything had been ok with the meal, lol. To which I replied, no actually, - I explained to her about the 4th meal being very late, the wrong order being served, her telling us it was what was ordered (which it wasn't!) and how it took us ages to get her attention because she was stood staring into space. She took the payment then went off to the bar, talking to what looked like her manager whilst staring at us. As we left, the manager asked us about what had happened, again I explained and he apologised on the waitresses behalf, but quite frankly her rudeness and complete disinterest in doing what a waitress should - completely ruined the second visit for me.
The rest of the staff were friendly and attentive, but the dark haired waitress really needs to firstly decide if she wants to work in a customer service role, and then she needs training in how to do a customer service role.
Thoroughly bad service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy80bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roos Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing