We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pier House”
View from Shuna towards Degnish, Torsa and Seil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Shuna towards Degnish, Torsa and Seil
The Boat House sits above a pier full of boats View from Shuna towards Luing and Mull
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View from Shuna towards Degnish, Torsa and Seil
The Boat House sits above a pier full of boats
View from Shuna towards Luing and Mull
Cormorants enjoy a rock
The Boat House, finished beautifully inside, was a labour of love by the island's owner
The Garden House
Strong kayakers can make it all around the island, spotting wildlife as they go
Numerous bays and inlets dot the eastern side of the island
View from behind the South End House to the ruins and beyond
A flotilla of boats greets new arrivals
View south to the Mull of Kintyre, Jura and Islay
The South End House sits in its own beautiful bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Explorer6...
1 review
“Pier House”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Having spent my childhood summers here in the late 70's & 80's I finally got round to bringing my clan, and was delighted to find there is very little changed, although the Pier House now has a plug and electric lights!! The kids 9 and 12 and Mrs C all survived in style. The same assault crafts I messed about on 30 years ago were great for cruising and fishing, and with otters, deer (especially the fallow ones), canoes and exploring no one missed wifi. The other guests were all great company and many thanks for the loan of the chainsaw. Hosts Rob and Cath are great and really fit in and was nice to meet Ed again having been lucky enough to stay in the castle with his family before it was abandoned. It was fantastic to be so relaxed, no watch, no sport or news, no radio or tv.. Shuna time took over, which is basically tides, weather and daylight..and welly's are the look even when the sun shines. We will be back to unwind soon...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Garden House - Shuna Island”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Some may say we have taken our time to review " our Shuna Holiday" but we are endorsing recent reviews of how much, so many, are missing by not giving Shuna a try. It's 40 years since our family of 5 first holidayed on Shuna and my wife and I have only missed 2 years since, with our grown up tribe latching on to our good nature and allowing them to invade? our peace, mind only one week at a time. Just returned from another 2 weeks of calm, peaceful serenity, upgraded facilities in recent years with electricity to assist your read at night, it sometimes gets dark, but the deer still walk past the door even when you are sitting by the window. Probably seen us before anyway. Had a couple of days with precipitations but when that sun gets out it certainly makes you head for shade. Booked in for next year again with our cordial hosts, Rob and Kathryn, who always makes every'ones stay worth a revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are so many things to like on Shuna with none better than the other
Liked least: Although the weather was mostly fine and clear a couple of part days were typically Scottish
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S0phiaMT
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing: a wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

At the end of our week-long stay, we wished we could stay a lot longer! It a wonderful holiday: being away from it all (being city dwellers) is very relaxing and roaming around the island is great fun! We stayed in the Forge, a lovely secluded cottage overlooking the Loch. Each morning we were greeted by Fellow deer (and even some Red deer) grazing in the field in front of the cottage. We were lucky enough to have great weather, letting us spend most of our time on the water. Walking around the island gives you the opportunity spot the abundance of wildlife and looking for the ruins gives a sense of adventure. However, do bear in mind the abundance of tics too.
Kathryn and Rob were the best hosts, they were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. They were very helpful and went out of their way to get us settled in.
All in all: a wonderful holiday! We look forward to going again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pier House - Shuna”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Pier House. The view over the Sound to the mainland was stunning. The Island of Shuna, itself, is the epitome of laid back - I've never felt so relaxed. Being on an assult craft and sea kayak for the first time was great. We also took part in some archery lessons, delivered very professionally, by,the very welcoming, Kath and Rob. The whole of our party (including the 4 dogs) had a fantastic time and we envisage visiting again, in the not too distant future. Shuna is the sort of place where you take your watch off and just go with the flow.Not to be missed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinhb
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garden House - also a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It is hard to imagine Shuna, the tranquility, the beauty, the freedom. The air was clear the sea was stunning, the island from wild to accessible and the boats, beaches, porpoises, deer all wonderful. We treated this as an adventure holiday and a 13,15 and 17 year old managed without the internet, without facebook, instagram and snapchat! Need I say more. Instead, we explored, we went out on the sea, we made camp fires, we played games, we shot bows and arrows. The weather could have been kinder but nevertheless Rob and Kathryn are fabulous hosts. We actually stayed in the garden house and were grateful for the log burning stove a few nights. Thanks Shuna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The purity of the island
Liked least: The cold wet weather :-(
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melsmadho...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best holiday we've had!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were a little skeptical initially having been to another island further North last year however we were pleasantly surprised. The cottage was beautifully located overlooking the sea with a private bay, easy access to a field to run the dogs (by the way we stayed in Oakwood but it's not on here)! Rob & Kathryn were just the best hosts and it's all we could do to leave their dog, Banjo, behind. There was nothing we didn't like about this holiday.
All the other tenants were super friendly and helpful and it seemed like one big family.
We really can't wait to get back next year and we NEVER holiday in the same place!!
The only suggestion we'd like to make is to make the front, double-aspect room, a double bedroom instead of twin room as it's so lovely.
We've already been tweeting and sharing photos plus we've arrived home with a tan and rain! Fast forward 12 months please...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rotating wood burner coz I want one
Liked least: That the double bedroom wasn't at the front of the property as it was a double-aspect room
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing