We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hideaway heaven”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the path open plan kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View up the path
open plan kitchen/dining area
sitting room
double room
twin room
living room, wood burning stove
from the gate
tennis court available free, on site
Ping Pong hut next to tennis court, and BBQ
entrance to walled garden
Masses of amazing plants in the surrounding gardens
Castle Stalker is 5 minutes away. ( photo taken by Hugh Edwards)
Castle stalker and the Morven Hills
The Old Gardeners Cottage- Laich Cottage, situated in its own private sunny garden.
Plenty of logs for the stove, and a bike shed for bikes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hideaway heaven”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We used this cottage as our base for an amazing 4 night stay in the area where there is so much to see and do, next time we would stay longer.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you might need including a thoughtful complimentary bottle of wine and a cake. We lit the stove at night although in truth we didn't need to as the heaters kept us warm enough but it made a nice focal point.
The fact that it is discreetly situated alongside the family's garden centre was the icing on the cake for us as plant lovers and there is an extraordinary large selection to choose from.
We took our own bikes and cycled to watch the sunset behind Stalker Castle on the first evening and also used them to explore on two beautiful local islands Lismore and Kerrera, accessible by regular ferry services. There was the added attraction of delicious lunches available on each island. We visited Glencoe and Craerae the NT Himalayan Glen enroute. In Oban we enjoyed an evening out at Skippinish Ceilidh House (every Thursday I think) and ate at some of the local pubs. This time of the year rhrododendrons and azaleas steal the show and that is why we went but it would be beautiful any time of year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for the great review and so glad you managed to see the gardens at their best! ( The Autumn colours are another good time!)
Thank you also for the great tips and comments you left in the See and Do Diary for future guests!
Hope to see you again!
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hum4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked a last minute short break which was well worth it as a birthday treat for my husband.

The location was beautiful, surrounded by flowers, trees and mountains. Plus there was a beautiful garden with nursery and tennis courts just on the doorstep.
The cottage was clean and well presented even with basic cooking items like oil and salt and pepper which was a nice touch.
Fiona was very helpful and there was plenty of information in the cottage about where to go. So much to see and two days was not enough time but we still managed a quick road trip around Skye, Fort William, Oban and a few other areas, we hope to be back some time again.

Happy memories ...thanks Fiona!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
We were so glad that you had a good time and an explore! We hope to see you again, kind Regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodhi Sat...
1 review
“A Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed in Laich cottage, beautifully updated and very comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchen. The area is simply beautiful, starting with Fiona's amazing garden center and extending to the landscape and cultural/historical context... We enjoyed our stay immensely. A particular highlight was renting bikes and exploring the Isle of Lismore in Loch Linnhe. The wood-fired hot tub was a learning curve (getting the temperature right), but what could be better than soaking in naturally heated spring water?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you for a great review, and so glad that you had such a good time, especially with the amazing weather you had. Lismore is a great island to explore. Come and stay with us again sometime!
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S1F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife two young kids and I stayed Friday till Monday and would highly recommend it. The cottage was perfect for us. Very quiet, clean and had everything you could possibly need. Fiona really does go all out to make you feel at home. On arrive there was even fresh flowers, tea, coffee and cooking oil supplied. It's a fantastic base 15/20 mins away from Glencoe and Oban. The hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of the day. We will definitely be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you for a great review! Really pleased you had such a good break and enjoyed all we had to offer you! We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossana_g...
Province of Trieste, Italy
1 review
“We felt like home”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great cottage with everything we needed, very well equipped, We felt like home
It was bad weather but we also enjoyed the Appin coast, Oban and Glencoe!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you for a great review! Hope that next time you have better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janebland
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great cottage with everything we needed, the tennis court and table tennis were an extra bonus that we really appreciated. We had amazing weather and were able to eat outside, but would have been happy to stay in if it had rained! Location was perfect for an action holiday, cycling, walking, climbing, swimming, we loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for a great review and glad you enjoyed your holiday here! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca J...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Appin”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks and loved it. The cottage is very cosy, we loved the wood burner. There is loads to do in and around Appin- we did sea kayaking which was amazing. Fiona and her family are very welcoming and create a wonderful relaxing atmosphere . We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for the great review! Glad you had such a good holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Kind regards, Fiona and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing