We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appin Holiday Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Rowan Tree lodge, as a mid week break and found everything 1st class from the location, view, maintenance of the park and cleanliness of the accommodation. the manager could not be more helpful and the other plus was the Creagan Inn bar and restaurant on the lockside a short ten minutes walk away. good meals and prices, at a perfect location. I would be hard pushed to find a negative about the lodges, but if I am very critical I have to mention the road noise close to the cabin, but it in no way spoilt our stay at Appin Holiday Homes.All in all a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank graemef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from a three night stay! Brilliant accommodation - very clean and comfortable, modern furnishings, and very comfy beds with lovely bed linen! Location is amazing and oban is a great wee town just 20 minutes away! Ate at creagan inn and the Olive Garden (oban) twice - both good, but the latter was a big hit with the kids! Sea life centre is worth a visit but we managed to get vouchers from car parking cos it's quite pricey! Lovely grounds for exploring and kids loved doing the nature quiz looking for leaves and beetles!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi there thanks so much for the lovely review it means a lot to Jim and myself. We are pleased you found the lodge clean and tidy and the beds comfy. There is nothing better than getting into a nice comfy bed! It is also nice to hear that the kids did the nature quiz and were happy exploring the grounds......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

There are beautiful views of the loch from the lodges,The accommodation was clean and comfortable, The friendly owner was more than welcoming even saying if there were any issues come on up to their house. Even had a really good games room with free pool table, books and plenty of toys and games as well as free wifi. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: we used the Lodges. Birch Lodge has amazing views of the Loch.The Creagan inn up the road does a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are really pleased you have taken the time to leave a review it means a lot. The Games Room is a big hit with our visitors so we are glad you enjoyed it. We do take the views for granted but they are pretty amazing! We hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in one of the loch facing caravans for a week at the end of June. We were lucky with the weather – which always helps! On arrival (we’d phoned to let them know we’d be arriving fairly late) we had a lovely note welcoming us and letting us know where our keys were. We got to Caravan I to find it clean, tidy and comfortable – with plenty of space for the two of us. The double bedroom even had a walk in wardrobe with space to change in!!!
We had to pop straight back out (12 hours of travelling and we’d forgotten to pick up any food at any point!) but we were pleased to find some toilet roll and miniature soaps etc. in the bathroom for a freshen up before we left.

As we spent a lot of time coming and going we didn’t get round to meeting the owners, however they had left us a handbook with plenty of information and ideas of things to do. The handbook also explained how we could get hold of them if we needed to, who they were and what facilities were available to us.

I have absolutely no complains whatsoever. The views from the caravan were stunning and I spent longer looking out of the window than I did at anything else! We did plenty of bird watching (there were a pair of oyster catchers on the loch side) and the local pub (a 5 minute walk away) was delicious and reasonably priced. Their Oban whiskey is a must try!

Room Tip: We stayed in caravan I - plenty of space for 2 or 3 with a walk in wardrobe in the double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatySense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned early from our break at Appin holiday homes, location lovely and weather a lot better than hoped. Unfortunately the accommodation was a real let down, booked one of the loch side caravans which although wasn't directly overlooking the loch did have reasonable views from the side. The inside however can only be described as dire the smell coming from the back bedroom and cupboard was a mixture of damp, wet dog and nicotine. My husband who suffers from asthma could hardly breathe and we spent nearly all our time in the lounge area as that was the only place he could reasonably breathe. No one came near us to see if we had settled in and twice we went to reception but both times it was un manned. On our arrival I had to telephone and was told the owner was busy fixing a toilet but would come down to see us as soon as he was finished Mrs Weir herself was also unable to welcome us as she had visitors !So neither owners made any effort to see if we had any issues and we were left to it. As we had various things planned during our stay we stuck it out but it was not a comfortable or pleasant area to stay in and it did put a dampner on the holiday. It's a real shame as the place has the most fantastic potential but the lack of welcome and severe lack of cleanliness means that next time our hard earned money will not be given to Appin Holiday Homes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tracy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your holiday with us. You state that the caravan was damp and smelt of dog and nicotine! This is hard to understand as the caravan is only 2 years old and is double glazed and heated. We do not allow dogs in any of our caravans or smoking! Having spoken to the guests who arrived after you they did not notice any smells so I am a bit perplexed to say the least. As other reviewers have pointed out we live on site and a folder is provided in each unit which clearly marks our house for guests. Reception is only open on Fridays and Saturdays but our home is open 24/7. We did call on you on the Tuesday but you were not in as we had missed you on the Monday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in one of the upper lodges. They provide a great view and we were pleased we could bring our dog. Despite being next to other lodges, we felt remote and that we had enough privacy so others couldn't hear our crying baby! Lovely walks in either direction along the old railway track, nearby pub offers good food and lovely views, not as good as the views from the lodges though. Lodges were well fitted out, clean and modern with decent sized TV and good mobile phone signal (O2/Vodaphone). Rooms were small but comfortable and well fitted out. There is wifi in the communal building in between the two sets of lodges - with the installation of a few extendes, wifi could possibly be provided to the lodges directly. Overall, this was a lovely location and the website doesn't do the place justice!

Room Tip: we did not realise that there were no cleaning utensils so bring your own, as there are not many opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago. We were looking for a peaceful relaxing weekend, and thats exactly what we got. When we arrived, there was a note at reception welcoming us and explaining why no one was there (an emergency) to meet us. We went to our lodge and found it very clean and spacious. Five minute later a lady knocked on the door and welcomed us and explained where everything was. The location is stunning, with a great local pub five minute away. They do great local food and their decking onto the water is simply stunning on a warm day.

We were left to it all weekend and no one bothered us, which suited us fine. However we knew where to contact the family if we needed them.
There was only two things that bothered me. One was that there was no toilet roll or washing up liquid and after a long drive we had to go back into oban to buy some. If we had known in advance it would of been fine. The other was, in a lodge that is so relaxing with a fantastic bed/ mattress and bedding. The couch was the most uncomfortable thing ive ever sat on! It was wooden framed, conservatorie furniture and after a long day out exploring it would of been nice to have somewhere to relax in front of tv.

Overall we had a great weekend, very quiet and relaxing. Just what we were after. Thankyou we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you had a relaxing break. We were however sorry to hear that you found the sofa uncomfortable. We are looking to replace them with new sofas over the winter (they are only 3 years old) but we refurbish the chalets fairly regularly. You should have been provided with toilet roll, washing up liquid, toiletries and a tea basket so I am sorry that some of the items were missing! Hope to see you again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Appin Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin Holiday Homes

Address: Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Appin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Appin
Price Range: £66 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Lodges & cottages on the West Coast of Scotland overlooking stunning sea loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Appin Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appin Holiday Homes Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing