We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in fantastic location”
Review of Cruachan B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cruachan B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Appin B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B in fantastic location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for one night this week. Very warm welcome, then shown to my room. I had a twin at the back of the house, overlooking the trees. Room was very clean & bright - with tea/coffee & biscuits. Free wifi also! Bathroom was very clean & had toiletries if required. Breakfast served in lovely, light dining room & was first class. The lounge overlooks the water at the front of the house and is very homely.

I'd definitely stay here again, next time I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: My twin room didn't have an en-suite - but I had sole use of the main bathroom. If an en-suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Could not hesitate but to give 5 blobs - perfect ! Unbelievably priced, the room had a room with a picture window over the loch, the breakfast was fantastic with home made bread and the best coffee!

Les is a friendly and helpful host - but beware the postcode does not take you to the right place on the SATNAV so check out location on google maps or call Les for directions.

Only one night here - I feel deprived !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed last week for two nights in Cruachan Bed and Breakfast. Les and Issy (the owners) were lovely. The rooms were spotlessly clean with everything you could ask for. There is also a living/tv room for guests and a separate dining room for breakfast. Plenty to eat for breakfast and again anything you asked for. It is located in a gorgeous setting with lovely views. Definitely a place to stay when up on the west coast around Oban - would recommend staying here rather than in the town of Oban.

Room Tip: They have three rooms in total - double or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesmithdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little B&B in a gorgeous location. My friend and I stayed overnight whilst we explored the surrounding areas. Les and Issy were both very welcoming and accommodating and pointed us in the right direction for places to go. The room was very clean and comfortable and could not be faulted.
Ideally we would have liked to have stayed longer but due to commitments we were unable to do so. Which means next time we visit our stay will be longer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Loved our stay at Cruachan B&B. Very peaceful & quiet in a lovely setting. Rooms warm & comfy, hosts friendly and helpfull. Perfect base to explore surrounding area. Stayed 2 nights spending a day on Mull and Iona. Would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Had a lovely stay at this quiet bed and breakfast, located about 12 miles away from Oban, on Appin peninsula. I found this accomodation by accident, I was searching for a mountain leader for a guided walk on Glencoe - and both Les and Issy are qualified guides. I booked for a walk and had a lovely day with Les (who took and sent photos as I'd left my camera / and treated me to coffee out at the end of the day). Les and Issy are an easy going, warm and welcoming couple. Their house is very homely. Their prices extremely reasonable. The accomodation is comfortable ...this is not a luxury bed and breakfast but a comfortable, warm base for people who like to be outdoors. The showers are fabulous. Other people have rated Cruachan as excellent and I happily also give this rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Peaceful place (although location is a bit out of the way), lovely people, warm welcome, delicious food, comfortable rooms.
Thank you for a perfect stay.
Gerold & Eva

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blegham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appin
1.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
617 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shenavallie Farm
Shenavallie Farm
#2 of 6 in Benderloch
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Cottages
Hawthorn Cottages
#5 of 6 in Benderloch
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan B & B

Property: Cruachan B & B
Address: North Shian, Appin PA38 4BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Appin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to our home on the shores of Loch Creran, in beautiful North Argyll. Our relaxing location, 20 miles north of Oban, and 25 miles south of Fort William, makes it an ideal base for exploring Argyll and Lochaber and the islands of Mull and Lismore. We have three bedrooms for our guests - one double and one twin - both en-suite, while the other twin has its own separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cruachan B & B Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing