We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Archie's Farmhouse - Lovely!”
Review of Kintyre Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kintyre Cottages
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in Archie's Farmhouse for a long weekend in June and found it to be absolutely perfect. Really could not fault anything - location is perfect, beautiful views and only a little drive to the town. The drive to the right out of the drive all the way down the windy road to Southend (and the Mull of Kintyre if you are really a brave driver) is truly breathtaking and well worth spending an afternoon on.
The cottage itself is just lovely - it is plenty big enough (we were four adults) with two big, very nice bathrooms, comfy beds and a kitchen with everything you could need and more. Was spotlessly clean too with nice, tasteful furniture throughout.
What we saw of the estate was beautful too - although, be warned, a 'stroll' around Davaar island is not for the faint hearted.
Would also highly recommend Muneroy restaurant/tea room in Southend and Crosshill trekking if you like horse riding - a ride on the beach was real tick on the bucket list.
Will definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMH23386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for what was supposed to be a week in June 2013 but left after 3 days.
It is without doubt the worst self-catering we have ever stayed in. Furniture is not bad but nothing was really clean. The kitchen utensils and cooking equipment were very poor quality and most of them were grubby (you see much better in charity shops!) and in some cases they quite frankly belonged in the dustbin. The front door didn't lock and the owner really didn't like being told about it - the waste on the WC leaked onto the bathroom floor but after the owner's reaction to the front door we just couldn't face the hassle of telling her. We had decent weather and the location is very good but it was just not a nice place to be so we left on the Tuesday after 3 days.
This place is very small and really is just for 2 people so at the £630p.w. we paid it is not cheap and at that price I think we all have a right to expect something a lot better. The exterior grounds and in particular the building itself are looking very tired and in need of some renovation - so don't be fooled by the old photographs of this place on the various letting agencies' websites. That aspect was very disappointing but then so was everything else. We've been doing self-catering here and in France for over 30 years and it really is the worst experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Spent a delightful Spring week on Davaar Island in the Lookout Cottage. Beautiful location. The Lookout is a World War II lookout station that has been thoughtfully converted into excellent cosy accommodation.

Stayed here a few years ago and haven't had the chance to go back but will do for a relaxing break away from all the hustle and bustle.Breathtaking views and peace & quiet a lovely Island, with goats grazing outside the window. you can sit and watch the fishing boats going to a fro with their catch and a great variety of bird life following the boats. Plenty of walks round the island and the weather was perfect a few misty days but even that was nice. You have lovely views across the Firth of Clyde to Ayrshire all in all a lovely holiday if you want perfect peace but you can still go into Cambletown for a look round, lots of history and some good shops too.
Recommend this place - Loved it

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SubaruDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beautiful Coach House, overlooking the sea. Nice and clean with good quality fixtures and fittings but some things not quite right eg the kitchen sink did not hold the water. Small things which did not really detract from our stay. Very quiet and great fun watching the goats at the back of the house eating the leaves from a high tree! Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank branleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Coach House Cottage. The location is excellent with sea views from the living room and master bedroom. We spotted seals and lots of birds on the beach at the end of the lane. The cottage is spacious and very clean. I loved the huge bookshelf! The farm manager (I think that was his title), John, was very friendly and even let us watch a lamb being born which was a wonderful experience! There were lots of useful information leaflets in the cottage too which we used. The kettle blew up while we were there and was replaced within hours.Just a couple of niggles..the tv was really small (but then we have got 46 inch tv at home so maybe I am a bit spoilt), a pint of milk would have been appreciated after such a long journey too. All in all, a great holiday home and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CupcakeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Archie's farmhouse....tastefully decorated, very clean, lots of space and lovely fittings. We're super fussy when it comes to accommodation and this passed with flying colours! Cate was really friendly and efficient when booking. The cottage has been thoughtfully decorated and very contemporary. Some niggly things here and there with the cottage not working but nothing that impacted on our holiday. We loved the space and would highly recommend it to anyone! We'd DEFINITELY come back

Room Tip: My only tip is to remind future guests that this cottage is most definitely on a working farm....Arc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squizzmoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spent a delightful Spring week on Davaar Island in the Lookout Cottage. Beautiful location. The Lookout is a World War II lookout station that has been thoughtfully converted into excellent cosy accommodation.

As the name suggests, the views are breathtaking. Peace & quiet, and wake up to goats grazing outside the window. Great variety of bird life. Otters leaving their breakfast of sea urchins on the slip. Fishing boats going in & out of Campbeltown Loch.

I had been looking forward to a few rainy days where I could catch up on my reading in comfort. Instead, the weather was glorious for the entire period, with views across the Firth of Clyde to Ayrshire & beyond; can't have everything!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kinuachdrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbeltown hotels
8.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Dalnaspidal Guest House
#14 of 19 in Campbeltown
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintyre Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintyre Cottages

Address: Mull of Kintyre, Campbeltown PA28 6RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kintyre Cottages is a family-run enterprise comprising of 9 self-catering holiday cottages on Kildalloig Estate, a 4,000 acre farm on The Mull of Kintyre. These cottages provide the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy all that the estate and surrounding area have to offer. Set against the rugged beauty of the sea and the wild landscape of the Kintyre peninsula, Kintyre Cottages provide an idyllic sanctuary, offering modern amenities and historic coastal charm. Surrounded by unparalleled natural beauty and sea views, each self catering cottage is comfortably furnished and provides wonderful character and history. For families Kintyre cottages provide the classic Scottish seaside holiday spot – with an abundant number of pristine sandy beaches (see activities) all within 5-15 minutes drive. All of the cottages have been thoughtfully and comfortably arranged to perfectly accommodate visiting couples, honeymooners, families, golfers, hikers, birdwatchers and other visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kintyre Cottages Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing