We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I have no time to get into detail, but will never return, I am not happy to please, just so disappointed, staff so rude, never experience anything like it before, improvement needed in every area, I felt intimidated , I was so happy when my stay was over,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Toriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

You were part of the same group as the previous reviewer. You and a group of colleagues were booked into our hotel by a booking agency. Your behaviour was such that we had cause to remonstrate with you directly. We have also complained to your employers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

By reading previous reviews I can totally agree very arrogant and rude staff would never recommend this place to anyone food was rubbish booked breakfast to be 5 minutes late to be told it was finished and I wouldn't be getting anything so more money out of pocket also really nasty smell of fish in the rooms can't locate the smell halls smell of pee don't know what class if people are there but honesty disgusted will NEVER visit again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Weeman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Unfortunately, the unpleasantness of your review reflects your personality. You and a group of colleagues were booked into our hotel by a booking agency. Your behaviour was such that we had cause to remonstrate with you directly. We have also complained to your employers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked this hotel as it was offering a good deal on one of the last minute sites and I'm glad that I did. Lovely atmosphere, like staying in a private house in some ways. Lounge was very pleasant to sit in and read a book whilst my dinner was prepared. Quality of the food was amazing. Very tasty. Friendly staff. Beautiful views out the huge windows. And the bill was less than half of what I would pay in Edinburgh for a similar meal.
Bedroom was fine, plenty towels, toiletries and I was pleased to find a dressing gown, a hair dryer and an iron when I opened the wardrobe door. Also impressed with the step by step guide to get the bedroom tv into satilite mode.
Would stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: My room (6) had a boring view view but was very quiet. And that is way more important to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

we went to this wonderful place called Campbeltown with 8 golfing friends; our stay was super, and Lori from the Craigard house hotel did all she could to make our stay the most enjoyable. we stayed in ths cosy hotel where they serve excellent diner at night ( compliments to the chef) and where the staff is very friendly and helpfull
we'll be back!

Room Tip: go for room nr 4, you'll love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaneB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, having stayed there not long after it opened, and I experienced a bit of a mixed bag. I arrived after 9pm and, on arrival, was met by the Chef in the car park to ask if I wanted to eat in the restaurant (he had stayed on) which was a nice touch. The owner gave me my key, small talk not a strength me thinks, and directed me to my room which although large and clean was in the 'annex' of the hotel where everything felt a little bit lower in quality (shower too hot or extremely hot!) than the main building. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, wide range of both hot and cold, and the waitress was attentive and very pleasant. Overall this hotel is good, but could be better, and I would stay again but would ask for a different room and would have dinner in the restaurant as a way of thanking the friendly and thoughtful chef.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed only for one night as we were passing through the town. Really enjoyed the experience. We had a room at the front of the house overlooking the Loch. Four poster bed was comfortable and the room well equipped with settee and chair. The decor was not particularly my taste but represented how things were in the original residence.
Make sure you stay for dinner, the food is excellent and well served, all the staff were pleasant and really wanted to make our stay enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letzdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was a real shame. The location is excellent, the food is good, the rooms are good - plenty of good literature about the local area as well

We stayed for two nights and we thought some of the service was haphazard and some of it was rude

The first morning our breakfast order got lost for a while which would have been fine but we did have a bus we needed to catch - waitress seemed genuinely upset with herself (no matter) , while we were waiting we witnessed a family of four wait a quarter of an hour to check out - owner had given some other guests a lift somewhere and no-one else could check them out.

Second morning the waitress remembered us. By this stage we had had quite a few Scottish breakfast so ordered only a few items. Trying to make it up to us she brought double portions. We had pre-paid our stay but I normally like to hand the key over in person so there is no mis-understanding etc. So, we waited at reception. The waitress saw us - said that the owner wasn't expecting to check anyone out but would find him. He came out and bluntly said that we we had already paid. We stayed at five different accommodations on that holiday - I gather that the more normal practice is to have a brief friendly chat with the guests to see them on their way. Rude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#16 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £80 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing