We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely house hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked Craigard very late on the day of arrival, which was no problem for the owner. The room that we stayed in was dated but had a charm that is hard to get with new, modern hotels. The room was immaculate and supplied with everything required for a comfortable stay including bottled water (still and sparkling), chocolate (nice touch) and toiletries. The highlight of the stay was breakfast: Craigard offers a tantalising menu with quality continental and cooked options. I would recommend the smoked haddock topped with poached eggs - it certainly set me up for the journey home. The owner was very happy to oblige when asked for items to be cooked a particular way. We were very happy with our short stay at Craigard. If we were to return to Campbeltown, we would definitely look into staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are delighted you were pleased with your short stay at Craigard. We offer a very varied menu for breakfast and dinner, specialising in local seafood, shellfish, meat, cheese and game. The smoked haddock you enjoyed was smoked just down the road at Archie's Kintyre Smokehouse. We also offer smoked and roast salmon, smoked mussels and cheese from the same supplier.
We are always delighted to adjust our cooking methods (or indeed menu) if someone has a particular favourite - so please just ask. Many thanks for the comments about the rooms, which also offer bathrobes, Neutrogena toiletries, cotton wool, cosmetic wipes, as well as the comprehensive tea and coffee service, and free WiFi. We hope we will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Several of us stayed at the Craigard House Hotel, for up-to a fortnight whilst working away. Roger and Lori couldn't do enough for us all and made us all feel extremely welcome. Highly recommended.

They are able to provide breakfasts at different times to suit a needs (we were working a boat) and provide us with great local knowledge when needed.

Plus Beanie the dog was always their to welcome us home as well.

Room Tip: Room 14 has great under floor heating a great little treat if you've been working outside all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We enjoyed your visit very much, and were happy to accommodate you when your stay lasted longer than originally planned, due to severe weather. We are pleased you too, enjoyed your trip and are delighted you appreciated the underfloor heating. We look forward to the possibility of seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a wonderful dinner here in January. Craigard House has a magnificent setting, and the owners have transformed it into a beautiful country house hotel. The lounge and dining room are luxurious. The owners and staff were welcoming and the service was excellent. And every part of the meal was superb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you, and your visit brightened a dull January day. We are so pleased you liked our food and this 1882 mansion, which has been so lovingly restored. We very much hope to have the chance to meet with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We've stayed here many times of the past few years and always value it's traditional nature, great service and excellent food.

Decided to just have dinner here this time and we weren't disappointed. Great service as always, but fab homemade traditional food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyFavouriteThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We very much appreciate your kind review. It was a great pleasure to see you again, and we are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I recently visited Campbeltown on a business trip and was booked into this wonderfully converted mansion house. On arrival i was greeted with a warm welcome and sumptious breakfast, Which i thoroughly enjoyed. on entering my room i was pleasantly surprised, I found it to be spacious, comfortable and rather luxurious. Ater meeting the owners Roger and Lori, whom I found to be very inviting, I sat down to a wholesome meal, which again was delicious. Overall I cannot fault this lovely place and if I was to visit Campbeltown again I would be certain to stay at the Craigard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Craigard. We know that your work takes you to many places, and are pleased you found our hotel welcoming and homely, and the food to your taste. We look forward to the pleasure of your company in the future. Many thanks for this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here whilst in Campbeltown on business and booked through Laterooms! Glad I did!

Very welcoming reception by the lady owner, and offered fresh milk for tea/coffee in my room. I stayed in Room 9, and was impressed by the quality of decor and furniture. The provision of free wifi throughout the hotel was an added bonus too. Plenty of towels, dressing gown there if you want to use it and a large selection of toiletries too.

Guided into the lounge where given the menu, I was able to relax with a drink whilst my meal was being prepared. Sadly the Scottish weather did not allow me to enjoy what must be breathtaking views over Campbeltown Bay from the panoramic windows in the restaurant, perhaps a summer re-visit might be in order!

Food was of the highest quality, and the "house" Merlot was superb! Breakfast the next morning was of similar quality!

Check out was handled by the waitress from the Restaraunt and was handled proficiently. During my stay, any members of staff were courteous and very professional in their attitude towards me and could not be faulted in any way!

I will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay. We are always happy to offer fresh milk for the rooms, and know that the provision of free WiFi in rooms and public areas is an important requirement for many guests. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again soon, and thank you for this much appreciated review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I have no time to get into detail, but will never return, I am not happy to please, just so disappointed, staff so rude, never experience anything like it before, improvement needed in every area, I felt intimidated , I was so happy when my stay was over,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Toriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

You were part of the same group as the previous reviewer. You and a group of colleagues were booked into our hotel by a booking agency. Your behaviour was such that we had cause to remonstrate with you directly. We have also complained to your employers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Campbeltown
83 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing