We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a seemingly charming building but it could of been friendlier..The food was OK but nothing remarkable..Our room, Davaar, was big enough but a little tired and dated decor, the bathroom was also a little dated and grubby bath...Nice location though and the room had a cracking view of the sea inlet..We naively thought that this place had a pool because the website we booked through has a picture of a pool in it but that was of the pool in Campbelltown, so we were slightly mislead although not by the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuchanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    63
    28
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
91
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a quiet part of town and just a short walk from the harbour. The food is top notch and a good price. The staff are always keen to help and there was no problem getting a packed lunch for the following day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. On our tour, looking for different places this came up. Well worth the trip. Our room was really comfortable, although the pillows were a bit hard for me but that's personal choice. Not a full view of the loch but a side view from the window was enough to see the lights from the town - very pretty. Our evening meal was very good and the breakfast was spot on. Helpful staff and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea view room doesn't always mean front maybe specify if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Who'd have thought a midweek golfing trip to the beautiful Kintyre peninsula would unearth this gem of a hotel. Peerless location right on the sunniest spot overlooking Campbeltown Loch, and the dinner was out of this world. The chowder is gorgeous. Service excellent too. A wee stunner!

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view. On a sunny evening you can sit and watch the wee fishing boats and yachts com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seljangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
How lovely! So many superlatives – you are making us embarrassed! We have a number of rooms looking out over that lovely view, but the room you mention has a slightly secluded table and chairs, where you can enjoy the view with your aperitif. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service and, in addition, as a guest of Craigard, you got a 10% discount on Green Fees at Machrihanish Golf Club! Hopefully you will be back to enjoy the view once again. Thanks so much for this kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, the owners are really friendly, and even Beanie the dog is welcoming, with expectations of a good walk. The food was all locally sourced, and we all enjoyed our meals, the wine list is very good and evenly priced. The views over the Loch from the restaurant are fantastic, watching the sun set as we drank our coffee was a real pleasure. Great choice from the menu, even breakfast, there is plenty to choose from.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are grateful for this very kind review and happy that you were pleased with your time here at Craigard. Beanie is always up for a good walk. Even though she is getting on, she is still a glutton for attention – a great ambassador for the hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinners and breakfasts, and the view over Campbeltown Loch from the restaurant. If you are in our area again, we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is an elegant 1884 brownstone mansion, built by a whisky distiller on the outskirts of Campbeltown, and overlooking beautiful Campbeltown Loch. (A plug for the Kintyre area – remote, yes, but not half as wild and rugged as we imagined)
The feel of the hotel is that of a Scottish country house, the atmosphere warm, the rooms large-scale and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners we had were excellent – they use local meat and seafood, which attracts local non-residents too.
Roger and Lori have owned the place for 16 years, having lovingly restoring it from its last use as a maternity home. Now they are looking to move on, so it’s worth checking if they’re still there when you book.

Room Tip: Views of the loch are terrific if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We appreciate this very kind review and are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Craigard. We enjoyed your company and hope that we will see you soon again. This is such a lovely house, I don't think it would matter who was here to greet guests, as the house seems to have a welcoming touch of its own! It was obviously a happy home, which retains many of its original features, such as a huge painted glass window portraying the 'Personification of Autumn', with all her Harvest Festival accoutrements beside her. Along with the marvellous cornices and plasterwork ceilings, there is much to see for the architecture buff – who can enjoy good local food and drink into the bargain! Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My companion and I dropped in here for dinner a while back. This hotel is in a very attractive house overlooking the Loch - splendid position - and there was plenty of parking places up a steep driveway. From then on, it was a little bit odd. We were welcomed and the words were appropriate but we both felt we were being treated with a little suspicion and were on trial. We were sat down in a sitting room and handed menus but nobody asked us if we would like a pre-dinner drink so we did not get one because we were left on our own. The service in t he dining room, was efficient if not effusive. My mussels were delicious and the rack of lamb was very tasty, albeit a little on the tough side, but my companion said his beef was delicious. A pleasant, local beer and a local whisky were then ordered to drink with the meal. Almost as soon as we received our first courses, everyone else in the dining room upped and left. I don't think it was anything to do with us! Perhaps guests here just like eating early. However, the two waitresses then began laying up for breakfast so our next courses were eaten to the accompaniment of a loud clatter of plates and cutlery being laid out. We felt very unwelcome and in the way while all this was going on. I might go back for a meal but would not want to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am glad you feel the house is attractive, but very surprised you felt you could possibly be 'on trial'? Obviously we are used to welcoming new guests every evening, so we can only think there must have been some distraction just prior to your arrival, so please don't take it personally! After offering you a seat in the lounge, to look at the menu, we always ask at that time if guests would like a drink. If the response is negative, we would not labour the point for obvious reasons. However, when your dinner order was taken, you were again asked if you needed anything else but you did not request a drink at that time either. As some guests simply do not drink, we did not think this was unusual, but we are sorry if we misunderstood. Regarding the setting up of breakfast service, we apologise if you found this a distraction. We are glad you and your companion enjoyed your meal overall, and thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#14 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Property: Craigard House Hotel
Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing