We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning to Campbell town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This our second visit here had a lovely time here great hotel location is perfect and food great stafdare great nice warm welcome we had the same room as before the room has just been finished in 2009 our last visit and very new so this visit things did look tried carpets and side cupborads but lots of history at this hotel was a maternity hospital we will recommend this hotel and will return again when we can my husband was born in this beautiful Town

Room Tip: Choose room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

On approach the building looks very appealing though on the steep curved drive up you cannot help but notice the neglected rockery area of the garden. We were booked in for 2 nights and the room we were given was in an outside annexe so once we were ready for dinner/breakfast we had to brave the elements to get back around to the front door of the hotel. It was pouring when we made "the dash" and, although I am fully aware that the hotel is not responsible for the weather, I was very disasppointed that our bedroom was not inside the main building. (This arrangement would have been an even bigger let down had we stayed during the winter months).
Alarm bells started to ring in my head when the lady who showed us to the room had difficulty in unlocking the door. After several attempts she eventually succeeded and in we went to a small gloomy room with a window looking into a tiny yard. There was a bamboo blind that let in light during the night so we had to hang a towel up as curtain. The wardrobe was about 18 inches wide and there was hardly any space for our suitcases. My spirits lifted when I saw the en-suite as it was modern and clean. However the towel rail was leaking and it did not heat up to warm the towels. When using the shower the low tray quickly filled and was in danger of overflowing as the water took ages to drain away. The toilet was difficult to flush. We managed to get ready for dinner and we enjoyed the food which was prepared well. However there was no atmosphere at all in the dining room and I found myself reduced to talking in low tones to match the other diners and then they all left and we were left completely on our own! We therefore did not linger but went back to our room. The next morning the toilet refused to work and we had to use water from the kettle to flush it manually. We went to reception to report this and to ask if we could be moved but we were told that the owners were away and that there were no vacant rooms for us to transfer in to. Since I was not prepared to pay another £84 to stay in a substandard room we stated that if the problems could not be fixed then we were going to have to check out and try to find somewhere else to stay. We then had a wonderful "full Scottish" breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the food. As we were setting off for a walk around Campbeltown the lady who was in charge told us that she had managed to get in touch with the owners who had agreed to let us use an apartment in town. She kindly drove ahead of us to show us where it was and we stayed our second night in spotless comfort although it was not in an area that I would have picked. We then returned to the hotel the following morning for our breakfast. Not an ideal arrangement but we acknowledge that the owners had tried their best to resolve a difficult situation.The food once again was good although I had been looking forward to the advertised fresh kippers but was told I was too early for them (so don't expect kippers if you go for breakfast before 9am)!
So...all in all...an "interesting" couple of days but not the peace that I had been looking forward to!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 57Lynn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a seemingly charming building but it could of been friendlier..The food was OK but nothing remarkable..Our room, Davaar, was big enough but a little tired and dated decor, the bathroom was also a little dated and grubby bath...Nice location though and the room had a cracking view of the sea inlet..We naively thought that this place had a pool because the website we booked through has a picture of a pool in it but that was of the pool in Campbelltown, so we were slightly mislead although not by the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuchanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is in a quiet part of town and just a short walk from the harbour. The food is top notch and a good price. The staff are always keen to help and there was no problem getting a packed lunch for the following day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. On our tour, looking for different places this came up. Well worth the trip. Our room was really comfortable, although the pillows were a bit hard for me but that's personal choice. Not a full view of the loch but a side view from the window was enough to see the lights from the town - very pretty. Our evening meal was very good and the breakfast was spot on. Helpful staff and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea view room doesn't always mean front maybe specify if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Who'd have thought a midweek golfing trip to the beautiful Kintyre peninsula would unearth this gem of a hotel. Peerless location right on the sunniest spot overlooking Campbeltown Loch, and the dinner was out of this world. The chowder is gorgeous. Service excellent too. A wee stunner!

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view. On a sunny evening you can sit and watch the wee fishing boats and yachts com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seljangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

How lovely! So many superlatives – you are making us embarrassed! We have a number of rooms looking out over that lovely view, but the room you mention has a slightly secluded table and chairs, where you can enjoy the view with your aperitif. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service and, in addition, as a guest of Craigard, you got a 10% discount on Green Fees at Machrihanish Golf Club! Hopefully you will be back to enjoy the view once again. Thanks so much for this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a great hotel, the owners are really friendly, and even Beanie the dog is welcoming, with expectations of a good walk. The food was all locally sourced, and we all enjoyed our meals, the wine list is very good and evenly priced. The views over the Loch from the restaurant are fantastic, watching the sun set as we drank our coffee was a real pleasure. Great choice from the menu, even breakfast, there is plenty to choose from.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are grateful for this very kind review and happy that you were pleased with your time here at Craigard. Beanie is always up for a good walk. Even though she is getting on, she is still a glutton for attention – a great ambassador for the hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinners and breakfasts, and the view over Campbeltown Loch from the restaurant. If you are in our area again, we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Campbeltown
83 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing