We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Delightful cottage in a magical location”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Archie's Farmhouse

Archie's Farmhouse with The Coach House (sleeps 4) adjacent.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Archie's Farmhouse with The Coach House (sleeps 4) adjacent.
Archie's Farmhouse, near Campbeltown Open plan sitting room with cosy wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
13 reviews
Archie's Farmhouse with The Coach House (sleeps 4) adjacent.
Archie's Farmhouse, near Campbeltown
Open plan sitting room with cosy wood burning stove
King size bed with 100% cotton sheets
Twin Room in Archie's Farmhouse
Comfortable open plan kitchen & sitting room with wood burning stove
Well equiped kitchen
Cosy yet spacious sitting room in Archie's Farmhouse
Sandy beaches
Table & Chairs on the rear patio
Stunning views across to Arran from the shore below
Games Room
Games Room, with pink ping pong table!
Games Room with wet weather activities for children.
Bar area in the Games Room.
Location of Archie's Farmhouse along the beautiful coastline
Our Highland cows
One of many local activities - Sea Tours
1st hole @ Machrihanish - just 5 mins by car
Views from the beach below
Coastal walks from the doorstep
Back garden with picnic table.
Downstairs bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a magical location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is very pretty and quaint, yet has all the modern comforts. It was clean and comfortable with all you need for a family self catering holiday. We particularly loved the open plan kitchen / living room arrangement and the beds were just so comfortable. It is very stylish and modern on the inside. Cate and her family were very friendly and helpful. It is just a short walk down the farm lane to the bay. We enjoyed evening strolls here watching seals and catching the odd glimpse of playful otters. There is a great information book in the cottage with some suggested walks and ideas for places to visit locally. We loved the fact that there are lots of books and DVDs for the rainy days. Overall, great value. We were very happy and Archie's Farmhouse met all of our expectations. Thank you Cate and family :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thanks for your glowing review - we are so pleased that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the cottage so much. Thankyou and hope we see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayniemou...
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Archie's cottage was not what we expected... The cottage was of passable standard but not very clean. The surrounding farm was not maintained well at all. Terrible smell from the chickens left roaming and flies filled the cottage each time you opened a door or window. Had to buy our own cleaning equipment etc as every time you went out you walked poo back in!!!!!! Had to clean crockery cutlery etc before we could use as they were left dirty from previous guests. Not enough kitchenware.
The area itself is fine if you want to just walk!!! But it's miles from civilisation . Campletown is an hour and 15 mins from the cottage. The facilities are of no use to anyone with limited abilities. Campletown is very shabbie and only one decent hotel and cafe to eat at.. The royal hotel and bluebell cafe.. We visited Oban for one day which was a hive of activity but a 2 hour drive away on very windy coastal road. Worth a visit but wouldn't go again... Archie's cottage is not as it states on the website. Sea views if you are lucky and see through trees and overgrowth, no linen provided and no games room.. All in all a very disappointing holiday. Would I recommend? Only if your sole aim is to do nothing but walk. Sorry!

2 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
1 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
This is the first negative review we have received and is very damaging. A few corrections i'd like to point out. It states clearly on the website that Archie's is situated on a working farm - of course there will be chickens, and other animals in the vicinity as one might expect on a farm! Most guests love this aspect of the farm. We have renewed the fencing around the rear of Archie's Cottage so this will prevent the chickens coming into the garden now. Campbeltown is 3 miles away - not 1 hour and 15 minutes away. There are very supportive reviews elsewhere that state there are many places to eat. As for nothing to do, again the guestbook in the cottage or the tourist information office provides a wealth of activities, siteseeing opportunities and more. There is a large games room - if you had trouble finding this you should just have asked. In your note you said that the cottage was clean but you were disappointed that there was a few utensils in the drawer that were dirty. We can only apologies for this - this will have been overlooked by our cleaning staff and thankyou for bringing it to our attention. There are cleaning products under the kitchen sink and under the stairs. It is damaging to say that the cottage was not clean when you had said it was clean in your note to us. We endeavour to make Archie's a home from home for our guests and to provide all the comforts and amenities one could hope for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Feb 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again soon. Best wishes to all the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pollyturn...
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views and rural bliss with modern comforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Myself and my partner spend a most agree-able week at Archie's Farmhouse. Archie's is a traditional farmhouse that has been tastefully renovated. The cottage was clean and the owner Cate had even left us some of her home-made bramble jam.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquility and rural way of life
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingrollo...
edinburgh
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We had an amazing stay in Archie's farmhouse. We have 3 young children and it was perfectly equipped for our stay. The hosts are lovely and welcoming and the cottage was very comfortable and clean and very stylish too.

If you haven't been, the mull of kintyre is a must-visit. Beautiful, remote Scotland at its best but plenty to do as well.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beds - clean, fresh and comfy
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$102
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing