We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Putechan Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Putechan Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Passed this welcoming looking hotel and restaurant on the way to Machrihanish. Not to be missed for welcoming owners and friendly staff, especially Ross who gave great advice on where to receive a mobile signal. Had a lovely family meal after an afternoon surfing. Beautiful beach opposite owned by hotel and always a beautiful sunset. Recommend a visit. Not to be missed if in the Kintyre peninsula.

Room Tip: They have rooms with balconies overlooking the beach. Have not stayed on this occasion as touring in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laird119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    57
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
29
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We managed to get the last room, a rather expensive one with a lovely view over the water, in one of the last hotels or B&Bs with anything available on a lovely summer weekend - yes, I KNOW we should have booked in advance, but we didn't!

The hotel looks very smart superficially, but when we looked a little closer it was quite shoddy. Our bathroom had warped, painted wood where others would have tiles, and an absolutely shockingly dangerous step right across the middle of the bathroom just asking you to trip on it in middle-of-the-night bathroom visits! On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable, as were the two nice arm chairs placed where we could enjoy our view.

The real negative, though, was the appalling service in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Nothing wrong with the people - pleasant and friendly enough, when they got around to you, but they just took forever to do so. They didn't seem to be short-staffed, as there weren't that many people in the dining room on either occasion, but perhaps the waitresses were helping out in the kitchen or something - whatever the cause, we waited and waited and waited for every step of the meal, from getting a menu to getting the bill to sign. Dinner took nearly three hours from being seated to finally giving up waiting for a dessert menu to be offered, and leaving the table, still filled with all our used crockery from the main course. That is just not on! It's one thing to linger over a meal when you choose to, quite another to be simply ignored when you need something as simple as your table cleared.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

After eating here last year whilst on a family holiday to Point Sands I was keen to return. Certainly busier this year, it was good to see that the Putechan (poo-chi-kin) has been building a good reputation for itself. I ordered the burger which seemed to be handmade and which was very tasty. I ordered my 18month old son fish fingers off the well though out child's menu. He was then given some crayons to colour the pictures on the menu- nice touch! We were part of a large party and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I had the chocolate pot which I highly recommend for chocolate lovers. After dinner we crosses the road and had a little walk on the hotels own little pebble beach. Perfect end to the evening! Just make sure you book in advance as they get very busy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouAt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently enjoyed our first ever short break at this beautifully located hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. To hear the waves on the shore at night was so relaxing! On the whole the accommodation and fittings were excellent, but may I just make one or two points? We had accommodation with the wet room facility for disabled. Some grab rails on the wall by the shower would be advisable for additional support. Also a larger wash-hand basin and better shelving beside this for toiletries would have been helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here recently with my partner after taking advantage of the 5pm offer for 2 nights B&B. What a find! The hotel has been beautifully restored, with a traditional feel retained throughout. I would absolutely recommend paying the extra for the principal rooms at the front of the hotel with the balconies, watching the sunset from there or indeed from the bar or the dining room is something I will definitely be returning to enjoy again! We ate in the hotel both nights, and the scallops I had for one of my starters were far superior to the ones I had at the Loch Fyne Oyster bar following our stay. The staff were warm and welcoming, and I can honestly say that were were delighted with every element of our stay. We were lucky to get some of the good weather, however I won't hesitate to return for another cosy getaway regardless of the season.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuzz189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aalter
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a nice surprise after a week on Kintyre! A really modern hotel with touches of design. The staff is especially kind and after the well-being of the guests.

The rooms are equipped with large and comfortable beds. The bathroom is stylish with a good shower/bath.

The restaurant is excellent, both in quality of the preparation and in presentation and offers a nice view to the ocean. A big difference with the traditional Scottish food we came across a some occasions. The staff goes out of its way to be helpful and accommodate your individual requests,

A 15 minutes walk brings you to a location with seals. The hotel owner guaranteed us that we'd see seals, or otherwise he'd pay us a drink. No drinks for us, 'cause we got to see the seals!

An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I booked through 5pm deal. The hotel was all we had hoped for, The location was great for exploring the Kintyre Peninsular, the staff were excellent, and there was a reasonable selection of whisky. We stayed in room 4 which was really well decorated and had a balcony from where you could look over to the isle's of Islay, Jura and Gigha. Watching the sun go down, and taking in the ever changing views across to the islands, while sipping a lovely single malt whisky is my idea of heaven, It was just so peaceful we loved it and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms 2,3, and 4, all are elevated and face out to the Islands, however you do pay a small premium f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Property: The Putechan Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing