We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a marvellous weekend in this perfect hotel.
The staff could not have made us feel more welcome, the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
We will definitely be back and wholeheartedly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: would also recommend upgrading to a premier room (only £10 extra) for a balcony with an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Dee,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on The Putechan, we are pleased that you had such a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon and possibly the mother in law :-)

Thanks again
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    57
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
29
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a wee break at Putchechan Lodge where we had a great time. The staff are friendly and a we were given a warm welcome on arrival. We stayed in a classic room on the ground floor which had a modern feel, very comfortable beds and great shower. We ate both nights and the food was first class, piping hot and a good range of choices, the venison with garlic mash was a favourite as was the smoked haddock and pea risotto. Bar prices are also reasonable which makes a nice change. The hotel has it's own private beach and picnic benches outside which in the summer would be a great place to sit and watch the waves crash. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Kilbride,

Thank you for your review of The Putechan hotel and we are pleased you had a great time. I have had the pleasure of sleeping in the beds and can wholeheartedly agree they are too comfy :-).

We hope to see you again soon at The Putechan

Thanks
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I have just left The Putechan and are sad to say goodbye. Despite the weather (January in Scotland has never been cheery) we loved our visit. The staff are friendly and professional. The hotel is very welcoming with an excellent finish throughout. Our room (Room 1) was especially comfortable with a giant bed, TV, dressing table and modern shower room. Our daughter slept comfortably in a travel cot provided by the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first evening and were very impressed (the mussels are a must have dish). The breakfast was also a sizeable plate and a perfect way to start the day. Although quite remote we felt the hotel was well situated to access Campbeltown and the surrounding beaches. As the weather was a bit wild we used the hotel's private (and relatively sheltered) beach to look at rock pools and keep our daughter amused. We would like to thank all the staff for the little thoughts that made our life easier such as CBeebies on the TV during dinner. Also for the use of plates and cutlery for our Chinese take away when socialising was just too exhausting for our girl. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully return in the warmer months.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MamaO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mama027,

Thank you so much for your review of The Putechan hotel. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you spent some time at our beach. Your welcome with regards to the plates etc for your chinese, we couldn't let you break from family tradition :-) hope to see you again at The Putechan soon.

Thanks
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a night away for his birthday. We come across this on a website and booked up. From arriving at the hotel were greeted by a warm amd friendly member of staff. We were shown to our room which was Room 1, and was absolutely beautiful. Was a little cold upon entering but that was just a small thing. Bathroom, bedroom and balcony immaculately clean and tidy.
we decided to have dinner in the restaurant and was fabulous and so reasonably priced.
Bed in the room was fantastic, huge and very comfortable.
We had breakfast in the morning and again couldn't complain about anything.
When checking out found out had just taken over at beginning of the month and I think your doing a brilliant job! Wewill be back in the future...if for the view if nothing else!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauramc3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Lauramc3105,
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Putechan. The new management couple are working hard to provide a friendly atmosphere, delicious food and clean and comfortable accommodation so it's great to receive such positive comments. The views from the hotel are indeed stunning and we hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy some more of the spectacular scenery Kintyre has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I along with my friend and his wife stayed in the hotel for a night while visiting campbeltown for a party. We found the hotel was fantastic. The "driftwood" furniture was beautiful and the theme had been carried out throughout the hotel. Our room was the premier en-suite and had a balcony overlooking beach. Stunning views. The food was excellent and the staff were very
helpful and very friendly. Couldn't fault it. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it. Thank you
Chris Debbie Darren and Angela "the band"

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Chris, Debbie, Darren and Angela
Thank you so much for your review of the Putechan Hotel. We're very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay - it's great to get such positive feedback. We hope we can welcome you back to the Putechan again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked at fairly short notice and arrived late afternoon. Reception was warm and friendly and I was shown my room which was nicely decorated with all you would need for a short stay. But because the radiator was off the room, was cold and took a long time to get to a comfortable level, even with the help of a convector heater.
The public area is the bar which is a bit spartan with wooden tables and straight backed chairs, although I believe a residents lounge with sofas an a fire are on the plans.
I was told that the food was good but was disappointed with the "winter " menu.
Breakfast was okay but I had to ask for a cup saucer and side plate.
Just one other wee thing, it's a great hotel if you want away from your mobile phone, there is little chance of a signal unless you stand on the hillock to the left of the hotel or by the boulder on the shore and on a clear night that gives you a great view of the stars.
Would I stay again, probably, the young owners are working hard to make it a success.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Nimlin,
Thank you for your recent review of the Putechan Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the radiator had not been turned on in your room for your arrival and that you found your room cold. The tables in our Bar were designed for the hotel - we believe that the feature wood offers a kind of 'driftwood' feel to match our coastal surroundings but appreciate it may not be to everyone's taste. The location of the hotel unfortunately means that the mobile signal is fairly poor, as with many other areas in Kintyre, but we hope if offers some of our guests the chance to 'get away from it all.'
We'd be grateful if you wanted to provide some additional feedback on why you felt disappointed with our Winter Menu? Our menu is updated regularly and uses local produce where possible - it's very important to us that we're consistently offering a range of food that our guests enjoy so please feel free to contact us.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Putechan again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Westport beach in the winter moonlight. Putechan a haven of warmth, both literally and in their welcome. Shall we eat? Let's give it a try. Some menus say homemade soup an it's not, there was a choice of two and both were fresh and tasty. The scallops were cooked to perfection on a plate to rival a London restaurant. What a gem!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Christopher B,
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal at the Putechan - we pride ourselves in offering freshly prepared home-cooking using local ingredients wherever possible. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
77 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#13 of 19 in Campbeltown
11 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Property: The Putechan Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing