We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value!”
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
scotland
1 review
“Brilliant value!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a two night stay at Putechan hotel. Everything was great - the room was spacious, really comfy beds, a wonderful, wonderful view and a lovely balcony to watch the crashing waves from. We had dinner both nights - lovely food and great value for money. Everyone friendly and helpful. Would love to go back for more!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    57
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
29
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent refurbishment a few years ago & recent new young enthusiastic husband Stuart (chef) & wife Lena (events & house) management team
Very comfortable room 3 (balcony not used in February gale but waves mesmerising).
Valentine's dinner wonderful. Putechan newsletter deal good value.
Already re-booked for April says it all.(5pm or wowcher deal)

Room Tip: Very reasonable upgrade to balcony sea view at £10/night / room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear m3doc

Thank you for your review on the Putechan, Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in January at the Putechan Hotel in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was very stylish with contemporary furnishings and an outstanding view. The first night we saw stars like we had never seen before as the sky was clear - quite unforgettable. I have never seen anything like it since Maui in Hawaii. The champion of this hotel is the chef. Absolutely brilliant. If you like to eat good food, this is the place to go. Fabulous beef and pork on the first night, with chocolate and raspberry creme brulee for pud - utterly fab. The first night we were there I had noticed a chap having lasagne and it looked lovely. On our second night, although it was not on the menu, I asked if the lasagne was available and the chef did a special one for me. How many places would do this? Breakfast was also fantastic. Would recommend this hotel for the most excellent food, wonderful location and friendly helpful staff. Could not ask for more. We will be back!! ps. Do not be put off by the busy road. It is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are on a busy main road which was quiet In January when we were there. An o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear JackieJ

Thank you for your review,
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all the lovely compliments, i have passed your comments on to the chef and he has an even bigger head now :-) We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic, the staff are wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. We were catching the first ferry to Islay the next morning and wouldn't be around for breakfast so the hotel made us up a very nice takeaway breakfast. The food was beautiful and at a great price. Our hotel room was lovely, very warm and comfortable. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Hezzy 81,

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed the food. We were glad to make you a little take away breakfast to keep you going on the ferry and hope you enjoyed your stay in Islay.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from two nights dinner, bed and breakfast at Putechan and were impressed with every aspect of our stay.

In terms of location, the hotel has a beautiful setting right on the beach and is a good base for exploring Campbeltown, Southend and Mull of Kintyre. Bearing in mind that we visited in February, public transport both to and in the area is limited so travelling by car is the best option. In summer however, bus and ferry services resume so public transport may be a viable option then.

The deal we booked at the hotel included a 'classic' room on the ground floor however, we elected to pay the very small supplement for a 'principal' room on the first floor, with balcony and sea view. On arrival, we were upgraded free of charge to the 'feature' room (Room 2) which had a lovely, large bath next to the window, overlooking the sea. Overall, the room was very spacious and well appointed, spotlessly clean and had a big, comfortable bed. My only criticism, and it's a minor one, is that the room was slightly cool for my liking however, I've no doubt that had I mentioned this to Lena at Reception, we'd have been provided with one of the fan heaters which are dotted around the hotel.

We ate from the Winter Menu on both evenings and thought the quality, quantity and presentation of the food was excellent and exceptional value for money. A couple of our selections, the haddock and pea risotto and the braised venison, would not have been out of place on a fine dining menu and the cheeseboard had a superb selection of local produce to sample. The wine list also offered good variety to complement the food and again, at very reasonable prices.

A huge part of the charm of this hotel comes, in my opinion, from management team (Lena and Stuart) who have just recently taken over at Putechan. Lena primarily deals with 'front of house' whilst Stuart is the Head Chef however both take a great deal of care and pride in ensuring that your stay is an enjoyable one and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are young, dynamic and full of ideas, so we will watch their progress with interest and hope we have the opportunity to return in a few months once they have really made their mark!

In summary, a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to return to or recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Lynn R,

Thank you for all your fabulous comments. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and the food. It was really nice meeting you both and discussing ideas with you. We hope to welcome you back soon and maybe have our Indian :-)

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend break at the Putechan. We were in room 2 on the first floor looking onto the sea and the beach. Lovely room with a huge bed and a marvellous bathroom - great shower and posh circular bath. The bathroom always felt a tad cold. In every other respect our stay was super.

The food is just outstanding. The staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is modern and very, very clean.

There's lots of space in the hotel and we would have liked an area with comfy chairs and sofas as an alternative to the bar. That said I would highly recommend the Putechan

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear JKB59,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your meals. We are looking at using an area of the hotel for a residents lounge and hopefully if you visit us again soon you can enjoy a comfy area to unwind with a pot of green tea ;-)

Thanks
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

wot an awsome hotel stayed for 2 nights with my wife and we were smitten with the place the staff and managent couldent do enough for us also a special mention to the chef food was mouthwatering mmmmmm. and karen the waitress wot can i say the women never stops working.o i almost forgot we had the best sleep ever in the beds

Room Tip: book this hotel now
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wullieace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Wullieace,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for your stay at The Putechan. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed the food especially. Thank you for all the lovely tunnocks caramel wafers - all the staff enjoyed them :-)

Thanks
Leena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#13 of 19 in Campbeltown
12 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Property: The Putechan Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing